You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Technology’s Influence

in #writing7 years ago

I think the best thing you can do is stay with your kids while they play. Try to explain to them what's going on, and make sure they realize how to separate the real from the fake.
I started playing GTA from as little as 12 years old (I still do), and I'm currently a law student who's doing pretty well, even if I do say so myself. I even remember first learning what a hearse is from a GTA 4 mission, and eventually using that knowledge to score an extra point in my high school English exam.
I'm a big fan of restricting time, but not too much. Let your kids play games according to how much they've studied, not the other way around. Let them understand little of it transfers to the real world, and they'll be able to glean the good and leave the bad behind.