To my love

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

To my love



I put your face to my love,

I put your voice to my love,

I put to my love all those details,

all the little things I like about you.

I accidentally dropped on my love

all your faults,

and without realizing,

I was already loving you

with all my heart.


I want to share with you a little love story in Greek mythology, it's the story of Pygmalion, king of Cyprus. Pygmalion frustrated after not finding the perfect woman to marry, decided not to marry or share any kind of female company.

On his own loneliness, he devoted himself completely to art, to be a sculptor, everyone in Cyprus wanted the happiness of Pygmalion, who had become at that point a workaholic.

His best work was Galatea, a beautiful ivory statue. Pygmalion used all his passion in every detail of Galatea, forming the most perfect traits, thus creating; to his own perfect but unreal woman. Such was his admiration that he fell in love with her.


Knowing his own inability to solve that issue, decided to seek help from the goddess of love, Aphrodite. He prayed to her so that she could bring his beautiful Galatea to life, hoping that his dream would come true. He deeply asks "the living likeness of my ivory girl."

The goddess granted his wish, she said "you deserve happiness, a happiness that you have embodied, here is the queen you have sought, love her and defend her from evil."

Galatea gained life with the kisses of its creator and fell in love with him. Together they ruled Cyprus happily.


Love is an idealized concept that we all build, we are sculptors, goldsmiths of our love and we pray to heaven that it becomes a reality.

We don't choose who, how, or when, or even understand why we fell in love, but love is the most sublime art form that exists, since it feeds all the others, I challenge you to be the greatest artist in this beautiful art

Note: this paint pygmalion and galatea was made by Goya, we can notice because of the clothing that the lovers wear, that Goya brought this ancient history and confronted it with his own time, we can do the same.