Writing Prompt #1

in #writing6 years ago

A couple of friends and I do some writing once a week and then share the result. So i think i am going to post some of those along with some or my artwork =).

Prompt #1: Write a story of scene about two people from very different backgrounds sharing a meal together. What do they learn about each other that they weren't expecting?

Well this was awkward, the boy thought. Sitting across from him was the thing he summoned or had tried to summon last night. But instead of it appearing last night during the ritual it was sitting at his mothers breakfast table gingerly picking at a plate of eggs. The Demon sitting before him had gray skin, dark hair, two giant horns that stuck out from the top of his head, and burning yellow eyes.
“Ummmmm….” the boy started.
“Before you even start, sorry I missed your call last night. Between the amount of work calls I get and insurance fraud that calls my phone constantly I tend to turn it off at night,” The Demon popped an egg in his mouth, “And there was this thing I needed to do.”
“So will you help me now?” the boy was now awkwardly shifting in his seat nervously, he had never in a million years thought he would be talking to a real life demon.
“Sure pal I got nothing better to do.” The Demon popped another egg in his mouth, damn these thing were sure good. “Though try not to make it too demanding, I have got a migraine and I do not plan on thinking too hard about this.”
The boy stopped his fidgeting and seemed to be deep in thought. “Before I tell you what is your price.”
To that the Demon starting laughing, which sounded more like the echoing screaming of the damned, but the smile on its face made the boy think of laughter.
“Oh kiddo, there is no price, all I ask is that you leave an offering of mead or some hard liquor, smoked salmon, and garlic bread by the seashore around midnight on Sunday.” The Demon smiled, shouldn’t be too hard for the kid. Last thing he wanted was to babysit and damn 9 years old in Hel.
The boy blinked. “Oooookay.…..Then I need you to burn every church to the ground during tonight’s sermons. A dark look fell over the boy’s face.
The Demon saw the the boy really wanted, the fire in the child’s mind was full of strange cages and hooded figures in the basements of the churches, it was the skin piercing screeches of the children that made that dark shadow over the kid’s face. The Demon’s face softened.
“I’ll tell you what, just bring the garlic bread Sunday.”
The boy seemed confused “Why?”
“Think of it as an early Christmas present.”
And before the boy could say anything else the Demon was gone.