My Superhero Friend

in #writing6 years ago

Hello Steemians,
This is my first attempt at a superhero story that I am currently working on and hoping to publish.
Hope you guys like it!

Untitled.png

I am not a crazy guy, and no, my mother didn’t had me tested, yet I know that I am not crazy.
But
Since I started my new job, there are certain things that have troubled me a lot. Mostly this concerns my roommate. Mostly, or more accurately it completely revolves around him.
It is something that I cannot express to any one without risking alienation and mockery. Today is the day (like many other days in the past week) that I confront him about it. Hopefully.
At first I thought the strange things that I was experiencing were because of change in work timings or due to my new found terminal illness – High speed Wifi, but that is not the case as a whole generation shares my condition. A change in sleeping habits can do things to a person - nightmares of Cosmo Kramer’s head on a stuffed chicken are not so terrifying compared to watching your room mate sleepwalking.
With his eyes closed.
Upside down.
On the ceiling.
Right on top of me.
And all I could think of, was the spiderman-style kiss, as the ceiling wasn’t that far and it definitely seemed possible. It was a bad idea to freak out and wake him, because if he lost control and fell on me around my stomach area, it would mean death by a human torpedo. So I slipped out of the room and slept on the sofa. Walking upside down seems an amazing feat? How about me sleeping again after all that craziness – I won’t let my roomie one-up me, if it can be helped.
Evidently he ran out of ceiling and curled up around the bathroom area where I found him sleeping. I took a risk in waking him all the while praying that nothing would explode. He was obviously surprised and didn’t notice the crack on the flooring where he had fallen last night.
I noticed it. Human torpedo - check.
Thinking back one thing that stood out was that his glasses were un-harmed. I have seen my roommate play rough at football or cricket or go swimming or trekking. He is never without his glasses and his glasses never undergo any damage.
After that bizarre night, I thought it was possible that the glasses were somehow responsible for the ‘powers’ – if that is what I have to call it- that my roommate had.
So I tried on the glasses while he was taking a bath, and jumped off the balcony. No I didn’t, just kidding.
Told you I am not crazy, I am a stable genius. I did test some things.
I pricked my finger – blood and pain
I tried standing on a wall – fell on my bum, pain again.
I started feeling dizzy and removed the glasses and resumed my normal day.
I have seen him bleed so he isn’t invincible. He gets tired much earlier than I do. He falls sick sometimes. So there was no visible trait of any kind of superpowers. Maybe I was going crazy.
But there are things he knows that cannot be explained. Like for example, he doesn’t know anything about software programming but can easily explain the working of code behind any app or website. His guesses are almost always correct. He can flip a coin or see a coin in the air and accurately guess if it will be a head or a tail. He is good with distances and mathematics but scored average marks in academics.
Anyways, I decided to test him and did so by dangling a knife tied to a heavy wooden block from the ceiling fan, so it would fall on his knees.
I should have kept medical aid handy, really, I should have. His right thigh was cut in the process. I had taken care of any incriminating evidence so he thought he had accidentally turned in his sleep upon the knife which somehow was just there on the bed.
His injuries healed in 24 hours and he didn’t even visit the doctor. Fast healing, now that is some cool power.
Last night he went cold, very cold. The room temperature dropped, it was as if he was absorbing the temperature of his surroundings. There was no visible cold fumes or anything, but he was sweating and when I touched to check his temperature, my hand was so cold, I was afraid my fingers would crumple away.
That brings me to the end of my narrative and me sitting face to face with my roommate. He is enjoying his breakfast. This is my chance, as good as any.
Here I go.
1, 2, 3…
“Ganga” he looked up.
“We have to talk….”

Sort:  

Congratulations @bookmanpage! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @bookmanpage! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!