My New Ride

in #writing2 years ago


Source

I have always dreamt of having a car. A blue car, or maybe even black. But I’ve never had one until now… and that was my mistake. It wasn’t like I couldn’t afford it in the first place; but as time went on with me, it became harder for me to find myself a good car to drive. The more money I saved from working at McDonald's, the less I could find time to go to the garage and purchase a new car… So, as much as I wanted to get a new car, I just didn't have enough money anymore. At least until today when I met a guy who told me that he would help me.
It started out simple and small. But in the end, I got the car.
But when I arrived home with my new car which was shining black, with its surfaces reflecting beauty. Everyone was surprised but I was proud so I parked the car outside my house and went inside to sleep.

The next morning I woke up feeling very exhausted, I walked downstairs and did a couple of stretches before I finally decided to go out and say hello to my new car.

On reaching outside, I was paralyzed by what I saw. My car was gone.
In front of me, there wasn’t even an outline of a car. It seemed like a black hole. There was nothing but an empty street.
What happened? Did something happen? Was this a prank? Am I not dreaming right now?
But no, I knew that I was still awake. I could see my eyes. I took a deep breath and slowly walked towards the space where my car used to be.
Nothing was left. Everything looked the same and everything looked clean. Nothing had any scratches or any anomaly. No signs of damage whatsoever.
But what if…

Maybe I should call someone to come take a look for me… but then again who am I going to call? And what will they tell me about what happened?

This doesn’t make sense.

Why did my car disappear? And why were the other cars also gone? How did I even get here, without noticing anything?
I can’t think straight anymore. I needed to calm down. It was very obvious that I was not in control. I don’t know how long I sat on the cold concrete floor. When my mind returned to normal, I stood up and decided to check for any signs of the missing people. I walked around the neighborhood looking everywhere for anyone. Nobody saw or heard anything.

Finally, after six months of searching, I gave up. But not without buying a new car. This time it was a blue car with tires as huge and heavy as that of a truck. I didn’t care, it was all the money I had left and it felt amazing to finally buy a new vehicle.

I started the car every day. Sometimes it took five minutes to warm up but otherwise, it always started. I drove wherever I please while looking forward to the future. One day I even bought a plane ticket and flew to America.
After a few months of traveling, I found myself in Chicago again.

I had no money, so I had to rent a room for one night to stay in. When I woke up in the middle of the night, I was scared out of my wits because I thought I saw something lurking in the shadows. When I looked out through the window, the car was still there.

I knew it was going to get stolen again, but I didn't care. I lived my life happily and when the car was finally stolen. I moved to a new town and bought myself a new car.
and lived my life as happily as I can...