The Curse Reverse / A Humorous Poem

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

THE CURSE REVERSE

It’s that time again, when the moon grows full.
My teeth tingle slightly, as my mouth starts to drool.
My arms itch, as fur starts to sprout.
Keeping control is something I doubt.
I shudder as my body pulsates with pain,
And I think of my visit to the gypsy again.

She sat in a tent, looking into a ball.
For the right price she would tell me all.
I sat down beside her, as she began to speak.
She told me the cure, in a voice that was weak.
The eye of a newt, the bark of a tree,
A blue earthworm, and a dead cat’s knee.
I refused to take it in bitter disgust,
But she raved profusely, “Eat it you must!”
So I gobbled it up, while holding my nose,
She laughed and cackled, as slowly she rose.

She said I was cured, but she was not right.
I lost one curse, and gained another that night.
No longer a werewolf would I ever be,
For I was now cured of that misery.

Want to see something strange?
You’d better look now.
Look and you’ll see,
The world’s first werecow.

Werecow 50.jpg

I don't do a lot of poems. This is the only one that I have liked enough to save.
Wrote it when I was a senior in high school, back in 1993.

Sort:  

great poem :) very cute!

Thanks!

Congratulations @caith! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @caith! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

How fun. I especially like the title. (Except humorous doesn't have an 'e'. Oops).

Since it's so old, I doubt you'd be doing revisions, and you'd know what works and what doesn't, wouldn't you?

I loved some of your word choices. Especially 'pulsates'. Good word. :)

D"OH! You caught me.

Thanks for the compliments. I haven't fared well with poetry, but I do like this one. It was done for a writer's workshop class. The teacher was very critical, but the other students loved it. It was probably just a nice break from all the melodramatic, teen angst ridden poems that most of the other kids were churning out. (Hey it was the 90's. Grunge was in.)

I may eventually try my hand at children's stories. That might be an opportunity to do some more rhyming.