You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do I Really Need Another Diet? - A psychological approach to your relationship with food

in #writing5 years ago

This just changed so much how i think about food, and I wouldn't have answered 'yes' to any of those questions.

I used to see food (as you know) as either an inconvenience, or a treat. I would force myself to eat anything for sustenance without thought for anything other than not being hungry (the week last year I had dry cream crackers every day for lunch comes to mind) and just force myself to chew and swallow, as quickly as possible to end the eating experience as soon as possible. Or, i would see it as a treat, or maybe that isn't the right word, i would eat things i enjoyed until i got that burning feeling at the back of my throat or felt so full i couldn't move. All the time with this book made me realize so much about my own eating and how more than it being unhealthy, it was a way my subconscious was grasping at straws in a battle for self containment and abuse. This helped me see that in myself, and i'm not saying my eating has completely changed, but now i keep a staple supply of things to eat for my lunch that taste nice enough, and feed my body instead of just filling my tummy. I still have binge out times, where i feast like a viking and then some, but it isn't a big bar of chocolate every night (okay, okay, its a smaller bar, and sometimes i manage the magic metal orange juice instead) but there are so many techniques here i have used in so many aspects of my life. This is a book on the psychology and practicality of diets, that is equally about self acceptance, and really loving yourself is feeding your body with what it needs, and looking after it, and not operating a regiment of self deprivation, but finding the balance.

In my totally not bias opinion, everyone should have a copy.

Sort:  

Mój Ukochany!~ >:^D - Totally relateable to young me where I had no concept of food other than “this food is candy, this food is healthy” and that’s what they only cared to say. However, when I did start to develop a taste and care to understand food, I would massively structure how I ate - only eating a whole lot when on family gatherings. Otherwise, I really place limitations and drink water if I feel hungry. Then again, this same family of mine really had an eye on my health and instilled hard habits of eating I have now either modified or abandoned.

So in short: whatever mój Ukochany says about the book might be true and I won’t doubt it.

Does that mean you'll be buying it :p

(although "might be true" haha)

Maybe~ ;p
(True on that)

First of all, thank you for this extensive comment, and for all the help with the book itself.

Do I need to answer more questions then, or rewrite the paragraph? ;P

Thank you so very much for sharing this with us, and I am so very happy to hear that it helped you realize the source of the problem, and helped you summon the power to change things.

I cannot not comment on the small chocolate bar, so, here goes :P
Most of us are very bad at giving ourselves credit for what we've achieved, and overall very critical about our success. We also always want more and more and more, failing to realize that maintaining a new habit is also success in itself.
What I'm trying to say is, you switching from a big bar of chocolate to a smaller one and sticking to it is a great success. Same as someone trying to lose/gain weight - many people think they've failed if the scale doesn't move every week/month. What most don't realize is that you've actually successfully maintained a new, lower/higher weight, and that is success too!
I'm not saying give yourself participation rewards or that you shouldn't keep yourself accountable with mistakes. I'm saying give yourself credit where it's due, take your time, and be your friend instead of your enemy.
Sorry, this kind of took a turn beyond answering you and directed a larger audience.

So very happy to see that you have used the techniques described in the book in other aspects of life, too, and that they've worked! :D
It was my biggest intention to write the book like so that everything inside it can also be applied in other areas of your life, not just food related stuff, only explaining stuff using food related examples. I am so happy it worked out as intended!

Thank you again for this extensive comment!