Writing Prompts

in #writing2 years ago (edited)


Image credit, Fabiano Rodrigues

Here are some creative writing prompts by me to get your creative juices flowing! I've found that it's easier for me to launch into writing when I have a starting point (and that it's easier to write a snippet of something then to flesh it out into a whole story lol). So here are some story snippets for you to take wherever you want!


The Click

He was cleaning the senior hallway when it happened. It was a Saturday and he was beginning the final waxing of the floors. The school was empty, silent, dead. The sound of his shoes slapping the tile was thunder in his ears. Then, a faint click cut through the oppressing silence. It came from behind him. He turned, expecting to see a person, but what he saw was much, much worse.

Identity Theft

The “high tech” security system that the salesman said would make my apartment “so much safer!” failed. My wallet, my social security card, my car keys: all stolen. I am getting all of these random charges on my card, several letters with people claiming that I owe them money for destroying a Party Galaxy, and even a notice to come to court! I know I should report this to the police, but I don’t know if they will believe me. You see, the person who stole my identity is my twin.

The Monster Inside

The rain came falling down unaware of our pain and despair, washing away the blood on our hands and the faith in our hearts. The bodies lying around us held the faces of our acquaintances, friends, and families, all staring at us with dead eyes. I tried to tell them we had to do it, that we had no choice, but their accusing glares did not change.

“It’s time to get a move on team,” said Alex, our squadron leader. I couldn’t move. I was standing there, an island in a sea of bodies, alone and lost. I was playing the battle over and over in my head, watching the people that I know and love fall. They’re gone. Gone and it was my hand, my own backstabbing hand, that had cut them down.

As the rain continued to fall, I felt my heart break. Then, someone grabbed my hand. I knew it was Alex, but it was so sudden that I screamed, and then couldn’t stop. Alex took me in his arms and told me everything would be fine, that the first battle was always the hardest.

But I knew nothing was fine. I knew I had done the unforgivable. I was a monster that couldn’t stop screaming.

They tell you the more you kill, the easier it gets.

They are wrong.

The more you kill, the more you despise yourself.