The Slacker's Guide to the Great Remission: The Purpose of Life

in #writing6 years ago

Lotus Flower.jpg

“I tell you, we are here on Earth to fart around, and don't let anybody tell you different.”

Kurt Vonnegut Jr.

“Life is an experiment to see what happens next.”

CZ

Why am I here?

This is the oldest enigma known to man. Religion is an attempt to answer this riddle. So is science. In fact, science and religion is exactly the same thing. The only difference is their approach.

Religion begs you to believe and have faith, to trust self-appointed “mediums” who speak for unseen spirits or all-powerful intelligent forces who torture or reward dissenters or followers according to universal rules that pertain to the spiritual gift of existence.

Science begs you to believe and have faith in “experts” who tell you they are observing and experimenting and unraveling the mysteries of existence by devising mathematical algorithms, isolating variables and extrapolating results.

Religion states that there is an unseen authority who dictates the workings of the world.

Science insists that life is a mechanism, a sequential series of processes that proceed according to physical laws dictating the interplay between matter and energy.

There is no “spirit” in science, no unknowable magic, just as there is no “science” in religion, no rationality.

In the end, neither science nor religion can answer the question because the question itself is invalid. Why am I here is as absurd a question as how high is up. It’s a koan. Science and religion is for koan-heads, not slackers.

Simply put, life is for living. Life is. There is no why. If live has a purpose it is life iteslf. You’re simply here until you’re not. You weren’t here before and you won’t be again. That’s why it’s so important to experience, to be present. And to fully experience you need to be free to do so. Plus, you need to be conscious.

There is no greater wasted life than that of a slave, whether he is a slave to possessions, to love, to delusion or to duty. Planning for tomorrow is wasting today—and you only have a finite number of todays.

Life reveals itself only to those who pay attention. Wake up, pay attention, stop cooperating, relax and enjoy and soon the blinding dust will settle and you’ll see what life is really up to.

to be continued...


Image

Preface part 1, part 2
Introduction
Why Slack? part 1, part 2

Sort:  

Yes, I try to repeat exactly that to me as often as possible. Though this had not become a habit among humans. Even the other way around, still digging for a greater meaning, there is. As there are and won't be any other answers than the one, you already provided let's make a habit exactly out of it to repeat constantly that there is none other than the precious life in the now.

Which by no means should be exaggerated as for letting oneself drift without empathy and interest in daily duties and events. I've leaning on those who already put that into very interesting metaphors or plain answers. For example those funny Zen monks who answered a secular question symbolically and a symbolic question in a secular way. Like "Great master, how can I become awakened?" Answer: "Go and wash your rice bowl". :)

I have another source referring to your thoughts:
https://steemit.com/steemiteducation/@erh.germany/the-watts-ification-of-life

which you might already know (I speak of Alan Watts)

Greetings from Germany to wherever you are. Still Turtle Island?

Thank you. So far you are the only person to get the gist of the Slacker's Guide. Keep reading. It gets better.

Left a long comment on your above referenced post. Nice work!

Yes, Turtle Island is huge, a continent really. I'm now in the south, thousands of kilometers from where I was. It is under the thumb of powerful and illegitimate political regimes, but I continue to have faith that they will someday fall and that its natural beauty will once again assert itself.

for the lack of time I just want to let you know, that I'll come back to you as soon as possible. Also to your comment on my Watts article. I Thank you & a good day for you!


P.S. I nominated you for "5 facts about me" article. Go on my blog an search for this article of mine :) it's for fun. Or so I believe it is.

I think you mischaracterize science, bro. Science is a technique. It's not a book, or a board of directors. It's a way to establish a given theory isn't true. All you can establish using science is some things aren't true.

People, even scientists, often make insuperable claims.

Science makes no claims. It's a technique to test things.

If you can figure out a way to make the question 'why are we here?' able to be tested, so that it can be disproved, you will have found a way to apply science to the question.

You'd be a lot smarter than me if you could do that!

XD

You are right. Science is merely a technique. Science is reductionist, a way to carve the material world up into smaller and smaller pieces. Science only deals with the knowable.

There is a realm that is unknowable just as an eye cannot see itself or a knife cut itself, there is a per-condition that exists prior to reality out of which the "created" world flows. Science cannot touch that and as such denies that it exists.

The problem is that when belief in deity dies it leaves an empty space in people's minds, hearts and emotions. Science is a poor substitute for that and yet it occupies that spot in the head of most secular people. Ultimately, science does not reveal any truths that matter. It only becomes a tool of manipulating the material world. And since we are material beings, including our minds, ultimately we are manipulated by those who feel the need to manipulate.

Science also claims "knowledge" where none exists. Natives knew that willow bark eased pain. They believed that there was a spirit in the willow tree that did that. Science discovered salicylic acid, a chemical compound. Scientists now "know" that salicylic acid works on the prostaglandin pathway, not only blocking pain but thinning blood and diminishing mucus in the stomach which is why it causes ulcers if overused.

This is valuable information, to be sure, but is it really better than saying that willow has a spirit? I contend that this very scientific attitude is what separates us from the biosphere out of which we arise and upon which we all depend. It leads us to feel that everything is dead and ripe for exploitation and why we are destroying the planet at an ever increasing rate. It's also why we think technology will save us when technology is the very problem.

Did you know that 16,000 people die from adverse reactions from acetylsalicylic acid, the enhanced version of willow bark extract, every year? Not something widely promoted on the aspirin bottle, is it?

"Did you know that 16,000 people die from adverse reactions from acetylsalicylic acid, the enhanced version of willow bark extract, every year?"

I did not. I did quit taking it when it blew my blood pressure up, though. No drug is without side effects, and everyone is unique.

You might look at it like different folks get along with different spirits, though.

You know me by now. People are free to believe whatever they believe as long as they don't impinge upon my beliefs. Whatever floats you boat.

When I was a kid, whenever anyone asked me that stupid question, "What do you want to be when you grow up?" I'd say, "A scientist." That lasted until they told me I had to learn math. What ended that desire entirely was the "scientific method." What drudgery! I'm about as meticulous as a mudslide.

Later I decided what I really wanted to be was a Naturalist.

Not long after that, my answer to that above question was always "A kid again." ;)

"A kid again."

LOL How true!

I am pretty damn meticulous =p It's what makes me a good finish carpenter.

That's one reason I built a log cabin. For rough work I use a 7/32, skip-tooth chain on my Stihl 039. For finish work I switch to a 5/32 narrow kerf, full ride chain on a Stihl 190. If I can't do the work with that, it's too finicky. Got to admit, my crown molding won't win any prizes at the county fair.

As for interior work, drywall is about as fussy as I get. Thank god for mud!

I vibe with that. Life truly is for living. We are here to have experiences. That generalizes it down a lot, but it really is that simple. We can put definition and meaning to the entirety of our life but in the end...we're here to live.

Thanks for sharing @citizenzero!

PS: I'd love to hear your thoughts about my recent post: Want To Get What You Don't Already Have? The Art Of Compersion Will Get You There!