Anything For You pt8

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

“So, just out of curiosity, what is this place? Why am I able to get in? What special list am I on that allowed me to find evil villain lair number 417 where the secret doctor does his work shrouded by cute girls in blue outfits,” I had plenty more questions to ask, but I thought those were a good place to start.
“Fallout!”
“I’m sorry, what? That answers exactly zero point zero of the questions I have.”
“Sorry, I should explain. This is an underground bunker, specifically it’s bunker 417 in a very large group of bunkers all across the country that were installed in case of nuclear fallout. You have entrance because you were on our randomly-selected list of people to ensure humanity’s survival in case of massive destruction. That actually isn’t any sort of evil doctor back there,” the girl looked back, offering a wink and a laughing smile, “though you may think differently during the immunizations process. He’s a nice person, but he just has a lot of work to do to make sure we survive in cryo-sleep until the-”
“Woah woah, cryo-sleep? You mean you all are freezing me? All right, you know what? I was okay with robotic lawnmowers and vintage cars and Doctor Grump M.D. back there, but I’m not going to be a blue-suit ice-pop just because of paranoia! I’m leaving!”
When I turned around in the hallway to walk back to the elevator, a boom echoed all throughout the halls. The walls shook and there were so many screams I couldn't think straight, followed almost immediately by the grinding noise made last time by the elevator as it descended to this bunker. The cute blonde looked more worried than I, so at least I looked nice and strong.