Anything for You pt9

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

“It looks like you made it here just in time, sir. This elevator coming down is the rest of your neighbors, and it sounds like we’re stuck down here now. Your other option is to have some nuclear radiation for dinner above ground,” she said and set a hand on my shoulder. It was a funny joke, even considering the situation, so of course I laughed and followed the blonde forward across a walkway. There was a cheery younger fellow preparing for the crowd with a stack of other blue jumpsuits as they passed, wearing another special name tag like the first doctor.
“Hey, this guy must be Doctor Not-So-Grump, heh.” I was the only one who laughed, so I just continued down the hallway.

After the few minutes of immunizations and tours of the facility, we finally were all asked to step into our individual cryo-pods to be frozen for 200 years to “repopulate the world after the major loss of life after the nuclear.” Had I known this was the plan from the beginning, I'd have been friendlier with the blonde. Nevertheless, though, I stepped into the pod and winked at the same blonde.
“See you in a few centuries,” I leaned back against the wall and relaxed as the freezing fumes surrounded me, as they did for the other pods I could see.