Anything for You revised pt5

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

I guess I should have believed my neighbor when he said he was a wizard, but I just assumed he was joking. He seemed like he spent very little time in his right mind, and he must have had five family members packed in the house, too. Plus he was stealing my electricity and I had caught him twice, but I guess wizards need electricity. That was my current theory, but my knowledge of real wizards was very limited.
Before I knew it, the scenery was slowly rising above the hilltop. He broke the vintage future trance of staring at the yards, thinking of wizards, and listening to nuclear cruise mobiles to look over to the control booth to the left, still not sure about what was happening. I then looked at my feet and saw a big “417” printed on a gear-shaped platform that was lowering with me. After these two realizations, though, I was already far below the ground level so that all I could see was the sky above and a black wall all around, so I decided just to settle for a few seconds, remembering to take deep breaths before whatever next surprise would find me inevitably.
“I guess I won’t be going on that date tonight…” I said to the blank view around me. Nothing but pitch-black darkness. “But who knows, maybe I will. I’ve been told life always happens, in one form or another.”