Making Friends pt6

in #writing7 years ago

“Well I’ve never been to Springfield, Missouri. Do you want some company?” Amanda spun around to look at him suddenly, her blue bangs flipping over to cover her face slightly but she still looked onward nonchalantly.
“Well, sure. I mean, are you planning to go there anyways?” Ric closed the books and looked at her, his head tilted to make sure she really was offering to move with him to Springfield. It seemed like too random of an offer to be what she was saying.
“Well, I wasn’t planning to go there, but I don’t have anything better to do. I don’t have a job right now anyways, so why not? I’d enjoy the new scenery. I’d need to move in with you until I find a job, though.”
Ric had no idea why, but he somehow couldn’t resist her offer. He couldn’t tell if it was her looks, her voice, or her personality, but something was overwhelmingly appealing to him. He was fascinated by every last detail of her personality, and before he knew it she was packing up her apartment also into the same moving truck.
One very long drive later and after many bonding moments, they finally found themselves in Springfield. They drove through the center of the town, past the Hammons field and to their new apartment just south of the middle of the city, and after even more time unpacking their truck and arranging the apartment, Ric was living with a girl he had met less than a year ago.