Sort:  

This is a great article. It will be interesting hearing what experiences people have moving forward and how publishing changes to deal with things like this.

Sure, people who google details of my stories might find it available online, but how the heck would their readers know to go looking unless they publish it? I suspect it depends on the format and style of their publishing.

If they're an online mag who intends to offer titles and blurbs of content to attract readers, these readers might go googling, find my steem blog, and not choose to purchase. But for ones that still do print publications or who have the content only visible to subscribers, where is the conflict?

But I think the most important thing is to BE HONEST even if it costs us.

Excellent article and very informative! This will come in handy the next time I submit something to a journal or magazine that I've already published on my blog.

That is interesting and I had not thought of doing that. I get it. I know a source. That could help my local business, thanks!

That was helpful.
BTW, I'd be jumping up and down if I'd get 50 downloads for some of my stories. So, it's all relative.
steemsig.png
Joe
@joe.nobel
www.joenobel.com
science fiction, fantasy, erotica

Excellent information! As only a casual writer who has never been published (except in a school journal, decades ago), I had no idea that FSR was such a thing!

PYPT-GOLD-ThanksForSharing.png

Great article @damianjayclay! :)

Agree with @bex-dk, honesty is the best policy. It's only going to hurt you in the end if you try to hide something. Be open and truthful and see what's out there!

Thanks for being willing to research and teach and equip Steemians, B3! :)

Im not thinking of getting published anytime soon, but its good to learn this anyways.

Hey Damian just wanted to say how glad I was to spot your article and had a question pertaining to it. I've published three mysteries from a series of mine on Steemit (have Amazon e-books out there too) and have the chance to submit the series (six are already written) to a publisher. What advice can you give me about the first three already on Steemit and how to honestly present that fact to a publisher via my query letter? Again thanks for the heads up on FSR.

Hi! I heard you talking about this post on PYPT- and am finally catching up with my reading! This is such a great article, and something I have wondered about over the past decade as I have blogged here there and everywhere- spreading bits of fiction across the interwebs!

Great the find you on here, and really looking forward to reading more of your work. E x

This is awesome info – thanks so much for sharing it with all of us @DamianJayClay! :)

Excellent info. You have addressed partly some of the questions I have about publishing on Steemit. resteemed for others to see. :)