Sort:  

CuratorSealOfApproval.png

This post was upvoted by curie and it's trail as a result of a submission by @markangeltrueman

I have participated (on and off) within writer's groups for 50 years and this the the best, most comprehensive and succinct advice I wish had been available over the years. This post is the most apt advice ever. I have finally found a small group, each person with different attributes to contribute and doing so with respect and honest. Such a relief. Were I prone to envy, I could be jealous of all of you starting out with such good advice so early on in your writing practice.

I'm so glad you found it useful. If you're looking for a great writing community come and check out The Writers' Block by clicking the logo at the bottom of my post.

Either you or someone who valued your post shared this post on Pimp Your Post Thursday in the Steemit Ramble discord. Looking forward to you visiting us again.

Excellent post. So much good information in here that can be used by many. Steem definitely needs more content like this.

This post was nominated by a @curie curator to be featured in an upcoming Author Showcase that will be posted Late Monday/Early Tuesday (U.S. time) on the @curie blog.

NOTE: If you would like us to NOT feature your post in the Author Showcase please reply, email, or DM me on Discord as soon as possible. Any photos or quoted text from your post that we feature will be properly attributed to you as the author.

  • If you would like to provide a brief statement about your posting, your life or anything else to be included in the article, you can do so in reply here or look me up on Discord chat (@randomwanderings#9929 ) or even through email to randomwanderingsgene at gmail .com

You can check out our previous Author Showcase to get an idea of what we are doing with these posts.

Thanks for your time and for creating great content.
Gene (@curie curator)


Curie Badge transparency.png

Can agree with all of this. When I first joined The Writers' Block, I was incredibly nervous about submitting my work for critique. However, it's been one of the best things I've ever done. I've had excellent feedback and my writing is so much better as a result.

It's even given me the confidence to offer my own advice on work from other people. Thank you.

Well we're glad to have you at the Block!

I'm glad to be there! Thank you for having me.

This approach applies to so much more than just writing. Good philosophy for life in general. <3

I'm a philosopher and didn't know it.

LOL I see what you did there.

(Unable to think of anything off-hand that rhymes with "philosopher")

Resteemed, very informative read! Trying to transition from technical writing, to a more conventional writing style.

Thank You! :)

If you're looking for a great writing community come and check out The Writers' Block by clicking the logo at the bottom of my post.

Thanks for the great article @damianjayclay! I followed you ;)

Cheers from Prague!
@klaus85

So many great nuggets here. I like that you point out that mastering the language must come first, before you are ready to workshop your writing. Otherwise your workshop mates will spend their valuable time helping you with the basics of grammar, which won’t help you master the mechanics of storytelling or poetry writing.

This is exactly right. It's also likely to make people less keep to approach working on your stuff. Better to hit the books and come back in a few months when you're ready.

Lots of great advice in here for anyone doing any sort of writing workshop. I think we might need to add it to the recommended reading list at TWB also.

Thanks Bex. I think I'm going to make it required reading in the poetry workshop for sure.

Great list of suggestions and perspectives here. I wish I had had this in my hand when I made my first submission forever ago. Coming in green, you really have no idea what to expect.

Yeah, I think forewarned is forearmed. We're so used to it all by now, but it can be a hard thing to get started with.

I just watched Rebel in the Rye and this post reminded of me that film and how JD Salinger stood up to how he wanted the story to be and not what the editors wanted.

It's best to remember that's a very different kind of situation. In a writing workshop we're looking to make work the best it can be, and, by that process, help strengthen the editing skill of the individual author.

Still, as I state in the post, it's up to the individual to make the final decision about the advice they accept and the advice they reject.

Great advice. I'm not much of a writer but I'll be sure to apply some of these tips along my journey.

Hi damianjayclay,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Thank you :)

Hi @damianjayclay, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Thursdays for Pimp Your Post Thursday at 11am EDT or 7PM EDT in the Steemit Ramble Discord or:

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord. If I use the post, you earn a portion of the rewards.

Pimp Your Post Thursday is a live curation show where you get to know others and they you. You can promote your post or someone you think needs more notice.

Thank you. It means a great deal.

Thank you so much for this post. I was so helpful and educative. I will surely use these tips. Thanks