You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BECOMING AN AUTHOR. DEADLY SINS OF THE WRITING CRAFT.

in #writing5 years ago

I'm guilty of No.!
And especially 5: Focusing too heavily on the business
I did start writing in order to sell my work
Make money
Become as famous as Hugh Howey & Andy Weir
But, it is a deadly sin because it gets in the way of actually writing - which is what helps you achieve the goals
Well thought out and presented post

Request For Help And Feedback

If I maybe so bold as to post this shameless self-promotion
I'm writing a series of posts on the top 100 songs for and about creative people
I.E. Which songs speak about the struggle, and the urge, to create art from our perspective as writers and artists
Some opf them about - and from - people who've made extraordinary sacrifices to pursue their dreams
some spell it out quite clearly - for the non creative masses to understand
Some use metaphors to speak to us directly, and connect with our creative souls
Feedback and suggestions are very welcome
You can find the latest post in the series @
https://steemit.com/life/@ebookwriter/songs-that-speak-of-the-creative-s-struggle-part-8