Use Social Media,Don't Let it Use You,Be Wise!!

in #writing6 years ago

Greetings Steemians

It rained yesterday, the road leading to my house was flooded but because I was determined to leave the house to catch up with someone, I wore my boot and stepped out.

I got stuck in the middle of the road, the water was too high, hence I couldn't go further.

The only option I had was to wait under a wooden roof filled with old men who were drinking by the corner.
While contemplating if to go further or not, I noticed they were calling me, beckoning on me not to go further but come back and share the shelter with them,i was a bit scared cause they were men then I had this peace of mind, so I went. They gave me a special seat while they continued their discussion.

While sitting down, I was quiet but attentive to their discussion. They discussed about their personal problems, family issues that made me weep in my heart. While trying to absorb these stories, the next minute they were insulting each other playfully and laughing.

Minutes later, they all departed one after the other under the rain and I was left with the man in charge of the drinking spot.

I really enjoyed how you and your friends were having fun today,i told him,he laughed ''my daughter, na so we dey o. All of us we are friends for 10 years and more. Once in a while we gather like this, discuss our problems, laugh, anybody that can help, help the other person, if we cant, we tell them sorry, end of discussion, life goes on ,and thats how we comfort each other.
(smiling) it's good sir, I like that. I would be on my way now, thank you so much.

I have been thinking, everyday people encounter one challenge, different families with pathetic issues, relationships going sour with friends and siblings having one misunderstanding or the other.

But Please, who told this generation that the best place to share any of these personal problems or be comforted is on social media?

download.jpg
image source

Many of my friends post things on social media to known and unknown people.
What happened to having confidants, I mean special people you can always confide in even if it is one person behind closed doors?

What happened to the beds where our parents use to make love and still sit to discuss their problems; or the family compound where they go to with some elders and relatives to sort out their differences?

What happened to the personal letters, calls and messages we think of sending to our friends just to make peace when ever they offend or hurt us? Today, with the invention of screen shot, revenge is much easier than making peace.

It is so pathetic how this generation brings everything to social media, seeking validation from people who do not know you, understand you, care about you or are willing to stand by you,people who are even jealous of you.

I know of two individuals;a young man and woman searching for job for years and finally God answered their prayers,they we asked to drop their social media handle and leave.
Few days later they were called back,the young man lost the job because he scammed someone on Facebook of 2 million naira years back and went free, never knew the old lady uploaded his pictures on several social medias,he just lost a job worth millions because of his evil acts years back.
The young lady also lost the job because she used to upload images of her nude pictures,posted stupid articles and also duped a small company of 500 thousand naira and ran away.

If you committed a crime,accept you made a mistake and face the little consequences than ruin your future and reputation.
Even if you want to post on social media,think twice,be sure that even in five years you would be proud of it, because you can't go back to time to change it.

You want to eat ,SOCIAL MEDIA,you want to bath, social media,you want to write exams,your having family issues,your pregnant;my mum would always say when a pregnancy issue,everyone would know, no need for announcement,you want to travel,worst of all self SOCIAL MEDIA!!!

I have a friend,i don't call her anymore because her status is on Facebook and whats app and its even risky because she was almost robbed when she shared her location and uploaded a picture of her new phone,she just bought a new Iphone and felt the world should see it first,few minutes later strange men started following her,she started running for her life because she was not ready to show them love,thank God a police station was close to where she ran to.

Social media comes with ethics, learn to differentiate between personal problems and social problems,know wht you share.
images.jpgimage source

If you need someone to confide in or talk to, I mean someone to trust who will never let you down, then I only know one person, his name is Jesus. He will not just listen to you, he will comfort you and help you,he would save you.

Don't sell yourself to or on social media.
Use social media, do not let it use you.

Happy Sunday and Thanks for reading.

Erik-Qualman-quote-on-social-media.jpg

Sort:  

Our best witness is Jesus and we must give ourselves to his name and will is the only way to make this a better world @emem

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Chai! @emem, this one touch me wella. I just hope more people would get to understand the dangers attached to giving out too much information...ladies especially.

Lmao
Awesome post dear