My first college production ever | Five years later

in #writing6 years ago

As someone who was studying to become a scientist, I never knew I would still be given the chance to practice something I'd grown to love as a high school student: making stage plays. Or at least, being part of, albeit cheap, a production. It's a form of art I'd love to experience over and over. 

I am a bookworm.

I'd always loved reading. I remember my big sister coming home and giving me books to read when I was as young as five years old. She even bought me a set! The books were of well-known fairy tales by the Grimm brothers; they were picture books, but the written content were no joke for a five-year-old.

To be honest, I had no idea where my sister was getting me to. Did she just want me to learn reading early? Did she simply want me to become a bookworm like her (I remember her bedroom then; she always had a thick book beside her pillow)? Yes, Ate @arrliinn, I think it's high time you answer these questions that had been bugging me the past seventeen years.

Regardless, I ended up becoming a bookworm, often finishing a single book in a day. It's seriously an expensive hobby, so I used to borrow books from my best friend or our high school library. Otherwise, I would tend to search online (bad, Aira, bad!) for free e-books.


Did you know I also loved reading encyclopedias? I managed to read at least parts of each of the 20 volumes we have at home. Image Source

I am a writer.

I honestly didn't know I had it in me until I turned thirteen. That is, writing. You know how you were made to write long essays at school? For some reason, I always get a 100 on written essays in English. At ninth grade, I was urged to join an inter-high school writing competition, and I won a place. 

I guess besides loving to read, being so imaginative had something to do with it. At thirteen, I enjoyed writing fanfictions on FanFiction.Net. Particularly, alternate universes of anime series I enjoyed back then. The stories did well, and my script-writing did at school, too.

I became the school's "play-maker."

I would then become the person behind many plays during high school. My classmates were really good speakers and actors, so I had no problem identifying roles they would fit in. Writing school plays became one of my favorite things besides arts back then, and I found somewhere I was comfortable at.

This was an impromptu stage play back in 2011. The actors would act according to how I narrated, and they would even make up their own dialogues!

Seeing my stories come to life was the best part of stage plays. While sadly none of those I'd written back in high school were recorded for me to look back on, I did one in college that, to this day, still sits somewhere in my laptop.

It was entitled, That Girl.

It's the people behind every production that makes it so worth it.

I was a sophomore in college when I did my first and last (and very cheap) short film production. But the experience was definitely the best. The other night, @ellamielle just reminded me how much we enjoyed making the short film, and as tribute to the almost five-years old production, I am writing down this post.

While I'd love to share the video to immortalize it on the blockchain, I decided not to. What I'll share, though, were the awkwardness among people who'd only known each other few days, the excitement of getting to know new people, and seeing your story come to life.


It was an amazing night. Everyone didn't know each other more than a few days, and in a single night, we all became close friends.

We were putting to life a 100-word short story I'd written. It was untitled, to be honest, but a song by All Time Low just definitely nailed it.


This song came up while I was writing down the script for the short movie.


These people? I'm proud to immortalize them in the blockchain as people I would never in my life forget.

That Girl

Dear You,

Today, you call yourself a murderer. That’s putting it lightly, though, because you are a walking tragedy.

You begin “Today” with the constant headache you cannot rid, and the flickering images of a woman who sports a beautiful smile and glowing disposition. You begin “Today” with an unbearable yet strange heartache, and a brief wisp of regret you hardly understand.

Come midday and she has become a mess more than you are capable of being. Looking at the mirror, you figure that she doesn’t exist. Not anymore.

Because reflected by the mirror are the eyes of her murderer.

Five years later...

The memory of that night is still fresh to me. In fact, if my conversation with @ellamielle the other night was any indication, then I'd say I'm not alone.

Finally, let me say this: I look forward to the day we'd all see each other again. And maybe laugh about our short film, but what the heck, it was a memorable one, anyway.

Sort:  

Wow. So lovely to read the story of your life. Wish you best of luck on your life ahead. Followed for more informative posts.

Nice to see how you used your writing skills in a creative way with other people.

Yaaaas, thank you @eternalsunshine!!! 💕

beautifully written. thank you for sharing . really enjoyed reading it

Thank you, @jacoboram! 😊

THIS is exactly what those books were for. Reading brings you to places you that you can only imagine. It helps you express yourself in a more eloquent manner. It expands your horizons.
See where the habit of readin has brought you.
DEAR time at least once a day. 😉

Huh. Who would've known I would get to use this skill on steemit. 😳

Not steemit duh. But these that you are writing about - being a journalis, author, blah blah.

Woahh, cant believe u have a whole stack of collections of encyclopedia! Have u finished reading all these books? I never really participate in a production/stageplay except for some role-playing or short sketches during university time. It was so fun!

Hiii @jiafui! 😊 The set of encyclopedia were from my big sister as well haha. I've read most from each volume, but sometimes I skipped those I wasn't interested in. I was particularly fascinated by facts and histories behind different countries, especially monarchy. 💕

Right?! Even simple role-playing is so much fun. I missed it. 😭 Anywayyy thank you for dropping by and sharing! ❤❤❤

The joy amidst the major-like loads of GE subjects! Huhuhu

Trueee! Pa-major na GE pero enjoy naman huhu

Very talented. Hehe sana share mo n yung output. :)

Hahaha yawkooo. Hahaha. Kahit proud ako don, nakakahiya pa din ishare. 😂

Hahaha we have the same set of encyclopedia. The old time wiki.

Looking forward to more of your writing 😊

Awiiie. ❤ Grolier encyclopedia is ❤❤ Best friend ko kapag walang internet at may pinaparesearch nung elementary/high school haha.

Me, too! I lookforward to more of your works too! 😊

wahhhh Aira!!!!!! I miss our mini "prod" days. Will tag myrt in here :) hahaha I miss you!
Btw!, I have the same exact Grolier's encyclopedia(S).

Miss you too! 💕

I have done short filming too and it is indeed very fun.

Right?! 💕