All I Own Is Gratitude

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

I owe it all, my whole life... I could be sad about it, but what would that make me look like? Here I am, in the midst of creation, in the midst of life – which was given to us, given me. Would it really be appropriate for me to complain about my burdens? Isn't every complaint simply a way of degrading myself?

When I think about it, life doesn't owe me anything... I was blessed to be born, and I'm blessed to be alive. I'm blessed to have a roof over my head, I'm blessed to have food on my table, I'm blessed to have a family, and I'm blessed to have friends – Yet still I'm free to complain, if want, which I have done so many times – demanding improvements, wanting more...

But how can I be so selfish as to demand more, when so much was freely given?.. – No, I'd rather see myself as servant of the Lord, to who I don't owe my life, but to whom I will give all that I have, and the best I can do.

Sort:  

Amen. Praise the LORD!

As I read it through, my text, I feel ashamed, even polluted by it.. Well, now it's too late

Even more so now that I realized that I have commented my own work...

Now it feels better

I'm trapped...