Tonttu (part 2)

in #writing9 months ago (edited)

Sorry for the delay in posting this.

This is part 2 of the book I started in my previous post, feel free to read that one first.

I had the Finnish part of this chapter written for a few weeks now, but the translation took me ages, as I was having doubts about the style and direction this chapter took my story towards.

Anyway, this one is written in a 1st person narration, differentiating it greatly from the first part.

I was also quite hesitant to post this one. Eventually I couldn't figure out how to change it to make it more similar to the first one, so here goes.


Saunatonttu Viljami Vihtavahti

When I didn't want to go to church yesterday, I hid in the woodshed on top of the stack of firewood. My father found me and gave me a spanking.
“You should fear God, and serve Jesus, instead of hiding in the firewood”, he said. But I knew a secret, a secret I didn't dare to tell anyone, about the saunatonttu who lurked behind the old sauna stove.

Every time I went to the sauna, a sooty, little, bright-eyed and oddly flat old man was waiting for me. He always had a wide smile, a green cap on his head, and a singed beard beneath his chin. He introduced himself as Viljami Vihtavahti, a saunatonttu.

Viljami told me stories about the past, and taught me how to respect the spirit of the sauna. The warmth of the sauna felt safe, and he was like a friend who understood me better than anyone else.

But my father's words about God and faith brought me doubt. “The tonttu is just a fairytale” and “and we should turn to the one true God.” I didn't want to lose Viljami, but I also didn't want to betray my father. I was caught between two worlds, trying to understand what to believe and what to let go.

Why don't big people believe when I tell them about Viljami? It's not like I have seen God either, why should I believe in him, but not in a person, whom I have even had conversations with?

Then, one day Viljami wasn't there. The sauna suddenly became quiet and empty. All that once was magical, was gone. The bathing wasn't the same; the sauna was either too cold, or the steam too hot, and even nanna grew anxious, and wasn't the same again.

Now I sit in the sauna, listening to the silence. I no longer hear the tonttu's whispers, nor do I see his bright eyes in the darkness. Yet, I still remember him and everything he taught me. Perhaps I must find a way to bridge the two worlds that have been part of my life. Maybe I need to learn to respect both the tonttu and my father's faith in my own way.

When I last sat on the church bench, the pastor fervently preached about how tonttus and hobgoblins were children of Satan, little imps and demons who entice people away from the light and grace of God. I can't comprehend it, for only after the departure of saunatonttu Viljami, the world has become so harsh and somber.

The message

I discovered a bell behind the sauna, hanging forgotten onto a tree. It's chime beckoned me closer, and my curiosity guided me toward the tinkling sound. A small piece of birch bark was tied to the bell, with something scratched onto it. My heart resonated as I examined the message. While I couldn't grasp the words, a cascade of images unfurled in the recesses of my mind, akin to glimpses of a dream. Bewildered, I gazed at the scrap of bark, and deep within my soul, I understood what to do.

Kun en eilen halunnut kirkkoon, piilouduin halkoliiteriin halkopinon päälle. Isä löysi minut ja antoi selkäsaunan.
“Jumalaa sinun tulee pelätä ja Jeesusta palvella, eikä halkopinoissa lymytä”, hän sanoi. Mutta minä tiesin salaisuuden, salaisuuden jota en uskaltanut kenellekään kertoa, saunatontusta, joka lymysi vanhan saunamme kiukaan takana.

Joka kerta, kun menin saunaan, odotti nokinen pieni ukko minua. Hän oli pieni ja oudon latuska, mutta hymyili aina leveästi, vihreä hattu päässään ja käryinen parta leuan alla. Hän kertoi olevansa Viljami Vihtavahti. Hän oli saunatonttu.

Hän kertoi minulle tarinoita menneistä ajoista ja opetti, miten kunnioitetaan saunan henkeä. Saunan lämpö tuntui turvalliselta, ja tonttu oli kuin ystävä, joka ymmärsi minua paremmin kuin kukaan muu.

Mutta isäni puheet Jumalasta ja uskosta alkoivat saada minut epäilemään. “Tontut ovat vain satua” ja “meidän tulee kääntyä ainoan todellisen Jumalan puoleen” hän sanoi.
En halunnut menettää tonttua, mutta en myöskään pettää isää. Olin kahden maailman välissä, yrittäen ymmärtää, mitä uskoa ja mitä hylätä.

Miksi eivät isot ihmiset usko, kun kerron heille tontusta? Miksi he minua toruvat, kun otan asian puheeksi? Enhän minäkään ole Jumalaa nähnyt, miksi minun pitäisi häneen uskoa, muttei tonttuun, jonka kanssa olen keskusteluja käynyt?

Sitten eräänä päivänä tonttu katosi. Saunasta tuli hiljainen ja tyhjä. Kaikki, mitä ennen oli ollut täynnä taikaa, oli poissa. Kylvyt eivät olleet enää samanlaisia, sauna on joko liian kylmä, tai löylyt liian kuumia ja mummokin siellä ahdistui, eikä sen jälkeen ollut enää entisensä.

Nyt istun saunassa ja kuuntelen hiljaisuutta. En kuule enää tontun kuiskauksia enkä näe hänen vihreitä silmiään pimeässä. Mutta silti muistan hänet ja kaiken sen, mitä hän minulle opetti. Ehkä minun on löydettävä tapa yhdistää kaksi maailmaa, jotka ovat olleet osa elämääni. Ehkä minun on opittava kunnioittamaan sekä tonttua että isän uskoa omalla tavallani.

Kun viimeksi istuin kirkon penkillä, rovasti kauheasti saarnasi kuinka tontut ja maahinkaiset olivat Saatanan lapsia, pikkupiruja ja paholaisia, jotka viekottelevat ihmisiä pois Jumalan valosta ja armosta. En saata sitä ymmärtää, koska vasta tontun lähdettyä, maailmasta on tullut niin julma ja totinen paikka.

Viesti

Löysin saunan takaa kellon, joka oli jäänyt unohtuneena puuhun roikkumaan. Sen helinä kutsui minua lähemmäs, ja uteliaisuuteni vei minut kohti kilisevää ääntä. Kelloon oli sidottu pieni tuohenpala, johon oli jotain raapustettu. Sydämeni helähti, kun tuota viestiä katselin. En ymmärtänyt sanoja, mutta mieleni perukoilla aukeni, kuin kuvia. Ymmälläni katselin tuohenpalaa, ja syvällä sisimmässäni tiesin mitä minun tuli tehdä.


Thank you very much for reading! Did you like it?

If you have some ideas on how to make it even better, please share them, and I will try to revise and I am also open to any suggestions for my next chapters. The story-line is still evolving, so I am very much interested in your thoughts.

Sort:  

I'm glad you keep writting this story. I guess the Finns hate hearing that and curse Tolkien for now and ever, but Finnish actually looks Elvish to me :)

Regarding any feedback, I would dare to ask for more (no Pepsi involved, I am drinking beer all nigth long; beeing a Czech requires durable liver). What you've published is a merely a bead in a necklace and I'd like you to hand me the entire piece of jewellery first.

Thank you! I'm not at all offended about Tolkien's influence on and about Finnish language, I think it's actually pretty nice. He was after all a great connoisseur of Finnish mythology and folklore, and had a deep appreciation for both, which adds a unique charm to the Elven language.

As for the complete story, I appreciate your enthusiasm! I'm crafting this narrative meticulously, much like assembling a delicate necklace. Each bead and pearl needs careful honing and refinement before it can be elegantly added to the whole. Rest assured, I'm dedicated to bringing you the entire piece of jewelry, one exquisite element at a time.

Cheers to your beer filled Czech nights – may your adventurous spirit and durable liver continue to guide you on your own creative endeavors! :)

That’s a nice story! You could make a whole series of cartoons too.

Thanks! I admit it'd be nice to have some cool illustrations to go with the story.

Ai hitsi, jäipä jännään paikkaan.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@sacra97(10/10) tipped @gamer00