Is it a gift or a curse?

in #writing7 years ago

Wow you are so creative. I wish I can be like you!

This is something I’ve heard most of my life. I am a YouTuber, Ex-Graphic Designer, Failed Entrepreneur, wonderer and now a streemit-er.

Ever since I was young I wanted to become an artist. I was proud that I could draw. I was proud that I think different. I wouldn’t say I stood out from the rest but I said to myself I am a special case . When you are young and silly it’s OK to think you are different. It makes you feel good. I didn’t had much expectations but to grow up and make comic books.

I discovered internet, discovered travelling, and discovered graphic design. I was thrilled. I thought my boss going to love my creative work. I am going to have a lot of paying clients. My artwork is going to sell and I am going to need a few bank accounts to store my cash. Well, it was a nice fantasy. It didn’t happen in real life. Well at least not yet. What did happen was, I am beginning to understand what is it really like to be an artist.

I had many personal project come my way. People were ready to pay a good amount of money to get their ideas designed on computer. Usually I start suggesting what would work creatively but it always get rejected. Instead of me offering my “creative” service it’s more like I am offering my ability to move the mouse cursor. The client would walk away bragging how good it turned out while the actual design look like a pink pile of shit. First I thought it’s the place I worked, then I thought it’s the profession I am in. After a while I realised it’s - me.

I started creating YouTube videos a few years back. Pretty soon, I became one of the top YouTubers in Sri Lanka. Then numerous agencies would call me to get commercials done. Just like my old graphic design days I would suggest how a creative idea can really make a difference. Only difference, this time I was able to predict the type of pink shit it’s going to look like.

After a few years in the creative industry now I understand the type of creative I am. I am the worst type. An artist.

Now I am beginning to question, is it a gift or is it a curse?Artist_GiftOrCurse.jpg

Sort:  

Keep doing things you love and do well, good people and amazing things will follow. Do it with passion and patience!
Good luck in your creative way of life! Transform your weaknesses into a strenght :D

Wow, I need to hear this. Thanks a lot :)

Voila! I think you are an independent creature. That's the nature of all conceptual artists........... it's a cursed gift Gappiya. Cheers!!!!!