A Breakup Letter to Society

in #writing6 years ago (edited)


Image Credit

Dear Society,

It's over, I am never enough for you
No matter hard I try
I sweat and I diet
I wax and I pluck but you show me dust
Make me feel that I am still the ugly duck
I harness my waist, squeeze my ribs until they almost break
I blew all my money for you!
On the makeup & products, you told me would transform me into someone new
When I gain weight I look chunky
When I lose some I am stuck with no ass
I plaster a face for you to look "awake" and attractive
Because the face that I have isn't pleasant enough, too "tired"
It's bad enough that I am not even the right race!
But I tried the skin bleach but it wouldn't erase what I deemed not beautiful
And I contoured my nose and cheeks to sculpt what you lust for
Because it still wasn't enough...
This relationship was all too fake, abusive
And I write to tell you I don't love you anymore
And I never will
I will no longer chase your standards
Because I gave my heart away to the one who sees me as He created me
And empowered me through my individuality
I will no longer try to be who you tell me to be
and completely free of the chains you had around me!

Your's Truly,
The Emancipated Woman.