You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Character flaws in fiction

in #writing7 years ago

Yeah, there are several times I have read or watched a story where the villains only major issue is that they take a 'the ends justify the means approach'. Everyone has a justification for their actions, no matter how bad they are. Very few people do some horrible act going "this will be fun!" instead its usually "by doing this action I will get this to happen, and I need that response"

There are some good villains who are evil for evils sake though. The joker is a well known example of someone who does bad things just because he can and still has an interesting character. I've heard the antagonist from the anime Monster is also a really interesting villain. It really depends on how you write them I suppose.