Is it a Cliché to Write in Starbucks?

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

I'm an independent author. I want to self-publish 20 ebooks in my life time. I need to have the drive and passion to do this but my inspiration is nonexistent when I'm home.

The below image is my first draft for my second ebook. I need all the concentration in the world to finish editing this story.

IMG_7059.JPG

It's a cliché that some authors create their work in coffee shops. J. K. Rowling was found writing in coffee shops from time to time. I had a friend scuff at me when I told her I was writing at Starbucks because doing so was cliché.

When I'm home, there's too much going on. No one knows how to sit in one spot. They expect everyone in the world to help them out of their problems. It is hard to concentrate with these people around.

I don't have such events happen to me at Starbucks. Everyone sticks to themselves or to their friends and that's it.

The environment is always changing: kids drag their mothers to the store, a student studies while listening to music, people have interviews, or someone is endlessly watching YouTube videos. Nothing changes in my room and I end up staring at a blank screen for hours.

In less than two hours at Starbucks, I accomplish my writing goal and then I return home happy.

I'm not biased against other coffee shops but they lack the iconic nature and popularity of Starbucks. I find these other coffee shops out of random.

I would hate to get tired of the green and brown Starbucks buildings before I finish my second ebook. Maybe I'll visit another coffee shop soon.

Sort:  

that cool, I want to be a book writer too but I never have an Idea, maybe we can colaborate in book writing hehehe