A Personal Statement

in #writing6 years ago

A kid sits alone, waiting for the bus. The child sits faithfully. It was their duty to finish the last sentence of what would become a short story. Or perhaps, a script of sorts. After a pause, they begin again, still scribbling away with illegible handwriting. Their tiny hands at work, flying off the page.

The bus was called. I missed it.
...
First and foremost, I was a writer. Maybe that was the problem. Children are always engrossed in their hobbies. For me, art is a form of escapism. A distraction from reality.
Sometimes, creativity is born from a stress-filled push. Mine was a single mother and a life of loneliness. No one can be a creative in every waking moment. But it made my life richer. The pain of reality is easier to bear. Eventually, it passes.

Even in fantasy the real world was plain to me. I'd see it whenever I put my pencil down and as I wrote it would nag at the back of my mind.

I wanted more. I wanted better.

That "more" for me was education. I was always told that if I tried hard enough, then I'd make it. I could move far away. I could finally be in a place where people thought like me; where people shared my passion for art, literature, and a passion for life. I could be in an exciting new place that could challenge me mentally. A place that could teach me to tap into my hidden creativity.

I could get away from the idea that life was solely about survival. Just the next paycheck. I'm an artist and I want to succeed at it.

Being black is hard enough in the southern United States. Being black and an artist meant a life of destitution. Life is about surviving. Art didnt put food on the table.

Art reminds me that there's more beyond my small box of a state. Life is richer. I can succeed at what I love and I can be around people that will love it with me. Being an electrician in Georgia isn’t enough for me.I want to be remembered.

Your college can help me succeed.

debby-hudson-544846-unsplash.jpg

Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

Authors Note: Writing for college applications is rough, but I hope this helps colleges and hopefully my readers all know me a bit better from this.

Sort:  

Team Good Alpaca loves this post! Nomnomnomnom!
teamgoodbanner1.png
Delegate to our project via SteemConnect:
10 SP | 20 SP | 50 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP | 1000 SP | 5000 SP

Hi your post has been upvoted by vis4, the LGBT+ curation bot! Come and visit us on Discord

lgbtbannerdirty0.png
Delegate to @vis4 via SteemConnect:10 SP | 20 SP | 50 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP | 1000 SP | 5000 SP

Are you applying to college? If so, I’m a college application counselor and I have a couple of months until my schedule starts filling up, so I’ve been taking students pro bono if they’re unable to pay for a private tutor. If you need an editor or some advice I’d be happy to help.

I'm intrested, but I'm honestly a bit suspicious. What college do you work for?

That’s fair. If you message me on Discord (or whatever messaging app you have) I can send you my LinkedIn. I’m going to be working at a high school starting in fall but I’ve been an independent tutor for the past ten years.

I'd appreciate it if you sent me your discord tag.

malloryblythe#8139

if it helps, Mallory is a Boot Camper :)

;) I'm glad she's got you to rep her

I am an Electrician, In Indiana. It is a good career, and now requires a 5 year apprenticeship. For the union, that is. It allows one to also pursue other interests, I have found. I think that I will be remembered, and I also believe that I have found my life's purpose. It is related to being an Electrician...

I can respect your profession and that you've found something you love. I just don't want to be an electrician. I can fix pcs but really, that's not my passion.

Though I do want something stable.

LOL that's great, sounds like my son told me. But then he ended up being an Electronics Tech, now he works in North Dakota for Halliburton.
I agree, you need to do something you LOVE, and it will not be like WORK.