...

in #writing6 years ago

I heard JAMB is from tomorrow. I wrote this years ago and I think I should repost:

JAMB and all the wahala.

I was still in SS3 when I applied to write JAMB. I had never known that I could ever be that determined. I remember spending the whole day at a Cyber Cafe somewhere in Ogba, Lagos waiting for the site to show even the least signal so I could register. Many times, I went home disappointed. My money-managing consciousness flew away. All you needed for me to depart with my money was to tell me anything like "10 ways to write JAMB once and pass it."

There were also the sadists that will come and tell me that Law was the most sought after course and that you have to hit 300 to gain admission to study Law.

Then we read "Last Days at Forcados High School" as the literature text for English. I bought a book of 200 naira for 500 naira just because someone told me it will soon be out of the market and that it would amount to automatic failure.

Days before my exam, I abandoned preparation for my WAEC and studied for JAMB like my life depended on it. I became very rude to mum when she wanted me to go on errands. She understood with me and my teenage craze. (Love you mum). I prayed! Oh!

On the day of my exam, I was nervous! I was visibly shaking. I didn't even have time to make friends and all. I looked at those peeps who were talking as very unserious people. How can you be talking in such a situation??

The questions were quite simple but when I was mid way into English (the last one), my computer went off. Jesus! I didn't know what to do. I restarted the system but unfortunately, my paper was submitted. I waited for everyone to finish theirs and went home. In my heart, I knew I had lost it. I cried on getting home. I cried very bitterly. My result was sent to my phone some two hours later. I had 0 (zero). I cried the more. Later, another one was sent to me. I had 262. I was happy. Even when I couldn't finish, I had high score. I felt another ray of hope light up my heart. I determined to slay my post UTME. God is faithful.

...to cut the story short. That was how I got into the University.

Now, when I see people struggling to register for JAMB, stay up late to read, stay the whole day waiting for their turns to write, I smile. But I get sad when I think that after all the stress you pass through to get into school, you finally get there and mess your life up. Some of you have written JAMB 3,4 ,5,6 , 10 times. The timing doesn't matter anymore. What you do when you finally get it is what matters.

Dear, JAMBITE, when you finally make it into school, don't ever let all the JAMB wahala be in vain. You've suffered too much not to make anything out of the tertiary institution at the end of the day. Let that zeal to make it follow you to the end. There are many distractions in school, trust me. But keep pushing. Make God your best friend, make wisdom your closie and make determination your bae. Thank me later.

JAMB WAHALA WILL NEVER BE IN VAIN.

Thank you for reading to the end. Have a happy day!