Bubble Gum: An Ode To Growing Up

in #writing8 years ago

Hubba-bubba bubble gum
And still undried tears
A large lack of motivation
No dreams in these teenage years

Im currently working on consistency
writing at least once per day
But I cant help but worry about if writing doesn't pay

I cant stand thinking of the future
And I long await the day
When I don't pick apart my sanity
Because of what i did not say

The weight of growing up
Is crushing me alive
And I cant help but think about
The ones that didn't survive

My bubble gum is becoming flavorless
And my body is going numb
I just want to stay inside
And avoid the light of the sun

My safe places are ablaze
And my mind is on the run
I wish I could just climb a ladder
And escape to some fun

But I cant help but feel that I'll be left behind
I see my siblings far ahead of me
And I'm running out of time
I wish they saw me all the way back here