"Zone 6" A Story by Gary "Jace"Smedley

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

mapus.png

When I first started writing stories I was about 8 or 9 years old. Since then I heard all kinds of things about writing.
Things like you should outline your stories before you start, always do your research, and the biggest always tell the truth.
Now I agree with all of that but, for me at least, sometimes its fun to just write and see where the story goes. I love that moment when I say something like "Wow, didn't see that coming."
So the story that follows is just that me writing with no plan, and no interest in the end.
I will just write and see where the thing goes. Let's have some fun.
Here is the beginning.


The year: 2036
The place: What used to be called Muskegon, Michigan.
Now called: North West part of Zone 6

My first memory of the end was the message.

A message that came across every screen in America. Every T.V. every computer, every phone, anything with a screen in America got the same message at the same time.
The screen turned red and had black letters. It read,

"If a Democrat doesn't win in 2024 America as we know it will end."

Everyone, well everyone I know, didn't take it seriously. They should have!

I was only four so I didn't know what was going on. All I knew was that whatever this was cut into my cartoons and I didn't like it.
I heard my dad say something about it was those leftest people and I thought they were talking about left-handed people and I thought they were talking about me so I got scared.

"Why would left-handed people do... whatever this was?" I thought in my young kid thinking.
Then the message went away, my cartoons came back on and everything was good.

Everything was good for about six months, just enough time for people to forget about it. Then a Republican won the election and everything changed.
As the message said America as we knew it ended. The first few months were the very definition of hell. Killings, rapes, the crazy brought out in just about everyone...

But look at that I'm getting ahead of my self.
Let's start with what happened and how shall we?

The title is a work in progress. What do you think the title should be? Leave it in the comments.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jacesmedley! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!