The Philosophers Travel Season 1 Episode 4

in #writing6 years ago

Hello Dear Steemians, sorry ive been away for a while. :)

My final two questions are a bit less philosophical, but more of a brain strain as I call it.

If the only thing I know is that I know nothing, do I know something?

image.png

source

This question is still giving me a headache. Where do I even begin, how do I even start?
Okay got it! Lets define Nothing and Something

Nothing: Not a single thing.
Somethng: An Unspecified thing.
we have a ying and yang situation right here y’all. Ok let me try to deduce this to the best of my very own knowledge.

I think the answer to the above statement is YES!. Yes you do know something. But then some may say, ‘If nothing is not a thing, and that’s what i know, doesn’t that mean i don’t know a thing?
Logically yes. To some extent that statement is true, but let’s break the statement down (goodness! This is harder than I thought, BrainStrain)
Taking out Nothing and Something in isolation and trying to wrap your head around an answer won’t help the strain. Let look at the whole statement again.
Now if the only thing I know ……the only thing I know, the only thing I know, the only thing I know…..is that I know Nothing…

image.png

source

Per the statement above, even though what I know is Not a single thing (definition of nothing), it doesn’t change the fact that I know something (an Uncertain thing, not Nothing, but The Fact that I know nothing. That’s the uncertain thing I know. That Fact). Get it? I do acknowledge, I do understand that... I dont know a single thing. I am therefore aware, conscious of the fact that... I know nothing. So what I know is the fact of me not knowing anything.

Good grief, that was painful enough.
I have no Idea if im making any sense at all
These are my thoughts and I might be wrong, but it’s always good to strain your brain once in a while.
Post in the comments section on what your take on this statement is. If you don’t want to comment, leave a comment telling me why. Lol!

If the only thing I know is that I know nothing, do I know something?

Sort:  

Congratulations @jasoncaesar! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @jasoncaesar! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!