The Philosphers Travels

in #writing6 years ago

This is going to be a 5 part series of thought-provoking philosophical questions. Every answer I will provide is going to reflect my very own understanding and position on the topic. Feel free to comment.

socrates.jpg

source

Season 1 Episode 1

If you could become immortal on the condition you would NEVER be able to kill yourself, would you choose immortality?

This question got me thinking (really thinking!). The answer to most would be an irrevocable YES!

The thought of never dying, the idea of being invincible is too tempting to even consider saying no. You could become a world power, have the ability to correct every mistake you ever make. Amass wealth beyond your wildest imaginations. You would literally become a time traveler, living through times and seasons.

I however controlled myself from jumping to this conclusion outrightly.
I tried to understand the concept of eternity and almost blew my mind thinking about it. Let me try to break it down. A story that helped me understand eternity in my childhood days goes as follows:

Imagine a small bird (preferably a humming bird) goes to take a peck from a bronze mountain. It flies off and comes back a thousand years later to take another peck from the bronze mountain. It flies away for another thousand years and returns to take a peck from the bronze mountain. This goes on until the whole mountain is finished. This, steemians is one second of an eternity.

cooking together 1.png

istock_000028821938_small.jpg

source

HummingbirdRidgeAcrossSeward.jpg
source

With this insight I asked myself, would I want to live my lifetime over and over again or never ever get to finish living my 1 lifetime? NO!
Could I stand watching all the people I love one day die and leave earth? (Parents, siblings, children, grandchildren great grandchildren, friends).

positive-loved-one-dies-recently-200X200.jpg

source

cooking together 1.png

I thought about how I wouldn’t even be able to have a family, wife and kids, even if I do, It brings me back to point 1, can I stand to loose them all, start a new family and loose again?. Would this cycle be my eternal trap?
I wouldn’t be able to maintain relationships, I would probably be hunted down and be tested on by the CIA.

Analyzing this, I came to a solid conclusion. No, I wouldn’t want to be immortal, not in this life anyway where everyone else is mortal. In Heaven yes. Cant wait for that though!
These are my personal opinions and you could leave yours in the comments sections below

If you could become immortal on the condition you would NEVER be able to kill yourself, would you choose immortality?

Sort:  

I strongly back your thoughts as i have also pondered over it for some time . There is no fun in eternity of repetition. One will be filled with regrets at the later end. Unless there is a forget button in ones head that allows you to forget everything about your past willingly, one will leave a life full of regrets in eternity as mistakes are bound to happen.

exactly my sentiments @tj4real, no fun in eternity of repition. Thanks for your comment.

The duality of the world, as a fundamental principle, implies both halves, life and death, in other words, life is impossible without death. Besides, we are deprived of choice, what is the solution? Relax and enjoy the process! Look at my artwork to understand better;)
63472810-600D-46D0-8B89-4A43FFB99288.gif

Great illustration. Clear and concise. Relax and enjoy the process!

Congratulations @jasoncaesar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!