Journalist's Dilemma: Will Steemit become Buzzfeed, 4chan, or...?

in #writing8 years ago

Don't worry, I'm not here to bombard you with some ethical discussion grounded in Mill or Kant - but I'm also not going to turn this into a graphic novel. I've dabbled a little in the journalism world, writing for Perk.com over the past year, but ultimately I'm probably going to be moving elsewhere. Steemit as clayop said, Steem transaction count is on the road to overtaking Bitcoin. It's becoming a beautiful idea marketplace, but the discussion for now is unsaturated; unlike reddit, Steemit is yet to be flooded with re-posts (though I have noticed some posters just reproducing various subreddits).

Many of us are brought to this platform either through our passion for blockchains or a latent interest in entrepreneurship. My question is simple: how will the voices talk?

I'm going to be gone tomorrow if we start seeing some /r/iamverysmart condescension on here. Putting up intentional language barriers is a good warning sign that you're about to enter a hollow circlejerk.

At the same time, it would be a damn shame if steemit turned into a blockchain Buzzfeed. As much as I love waking up to a slew of easily digestible mush on my Facebook in the morning, I get enough of it from my colleagues alone. We should be looking to strike a delicate balance between readability and intellectualism.

Or a not so delicate one? With this growing user base, a growing number of readers with diverse palates will be browsing the forums daily. There's tons of room for style, but forums tend to have prevailing tones that strike through the popular pages. So far for me, reddit has filled my casual browsing time best; praise for originality (even in the form of 'shitposts') and a center-leftist appreciation for diversity. Where it breaks down is the self-deprecation and dragging down of others that redditors tend to bring to the table.

It's a crime to have pride over there, I swear. I plan to be a lurker wherever I go - for the most part. I want to read confidence pieces from passionate people, not from writers who are too afraid to "try hard and die hard". There are some fantastic pieces covering the front page here, from life changing experiences to new ventures.

Let me know where you plan to take steemit. I know it's going to be a fucking wild ride here; I'm just hoping you pioneers can set a tone that will make social progress, not send us back another decade.

Sort:  

steemit will become steemit... buzzfeed dont pay neither reddit

steemit hasn't distinguished its writing style yet from others though. I do agree the monetization changes things.

Congratulations @jungroan! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!