Ruthlessly Embarrassed

in #writing2 years ago

room-g8030d6af4_1280.jpg

A story exploring time travel and societal issues in the wake of 9/11. This is chapter 9. See previous posts for chapters 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, and 8.

"Hello?" called Agent Jennings as she entered the apartment without knocking. "Mr Barabos? We need to talk."

Detecting the scent of marijuana, Jennings proceeded cautiously. She found T2 sitting in the living room, wearing a plastic mask connected to what looked like an oxygen tank. He removed the mask, turned a valve on a gas regulator, and turned to face the agent. "Headache disorder," he explained. "Oxygen therapy helps. What's up?"

"Like you don't know," said Jennings. "The last thing you put me on ruined me. It ruined me! Agent Feldspar took early retirement. Is it even safe to talk here?"

"Safe enough," said T2. "But refresh my memory. What was the last thing I put you on to?"

"Information about The Finders," said Jennings. "About a possible CIA connection."

"Oh right," said T2, recalling the details. "I'm surprised. Would've thought that one would be a dead end."

"We hit a dead end alright," said Jennings, sitting in a nearby chair. "My boss wanted me to write a formal apology to the CIA for even bringing it up. Why did you think it would be a dead end?"

"The information was old and publicly available," said T2. "Plus, The Finders don't really seem to fit the pattern. The Agency manipulated the art world and supported drug cartels. It did mind control experiments like MK-ULTRA. These operations were madness, but madness in support of a big picture. I don't see where The Finders fit into all of that. Can I get you a coffee or something?"

"That's the thing," said Jennings. "Ever since 9/11, nothing has made sense. It's like our priorities shifted, but not how you'd expect. Like we're being fit into some big picture we can't see. And if it's bad at the Bureau, it's worse at the CIA, like a whole new group of people are in charge. Scary people, with scary agendas."

"Yes, the Neocon coup of 2000 did seem to send things in that direction."

"I can't do it," said Jennings. "They were following me, probably tapping my phone, all over a simple letter of inquiry. I couldn't do it. So I resigned."

"And you came here," said T2. "Should I be worried?"

"I had to go somewhere and this is where I ended up," said Jennings. "It's getting harder to trust people, you know."

"Are you fishing for a job?" asked T2. "I'm sure some private security firm would love to have you. Or maybe you could teach. I'm happy to write a letter of recommendation."

"They're already saying that I've lost my nerve," said Jennings. "I get a job like that, they'll call me a has-been. I'm only thirty-six!"

"But ... I'm in tech and cyber isn't exactly your thing," said T2. "Unless you'd be willing to travel for an extended period of time. Then, I might have something for you."

"Oh, like what?" asked Jennings.

"Chief Security Officer and my personal driver," said T2.

"What kind of travel are we talking?" asked Jennings.

"All domestic, the first year," said T2. "I'll be buying properties and meeting with people."

"I could handle that," said Jennings. "Depending on compensation."

"This ... actually helps me quite a bit," said T2.

"And I'll get a look behind the curtain into your operation," said Jennings.

"You'll have to sign some forms and promise to be cool," said T2. "And maybe wear a costume. I still haven't decided if I'm doing costumes on my trip or not."

"Definitely not," said Jennings. "So tell me, what do you think the CIA is up to with this Finders business?"

"No idea," said T2. "Like I said, it's an anomaly. If there is a connection, it would probably be about mind control research. But I doubt that there's a connection."

"Well, someone high up on the food chain wants all talk of it silenced," said Jennings.

"In 1962, top officials drafted a plan called Operation Northwoods, which explored carrying out false flag attacks to convince the public to go to war," said T2. "This plan was kept secret for many years because it was embarrassing. It's possible that the CIA accidentally associated with The Finders in the past, and now they're embarrassed by it. Perhaps ruthlessly embarrassed by it."

"I can't believe you just take this all in stride," said Jennings. "Guess the marijuana helps."

"It helps with the headaches," T2. "That a problem for you?"

"Don't worry, I won't call the cops on you for it," said Jennings. "But I can't be party to criminal activity."

"Certainly not!" said T2, grinning. "My plan was to leave next week, going city to city, buying up undeveloped lots on the outskirts and housing in the urban centers. Talking to people along the way. You up for that?"

"So, a road trip?" said Jennings. "Maybe I could use one."

"How does fifteen hundred a week sound?" asked T2.

"Two thousand," said Jennings.

"Fair enough," said T2. "Do whatever you need to get ready."

"The truth is I'm ready now," said Jennings. "My plan was to keep heading south to the redwoods if things didn't work out with you."

"They really did a number on you over this thing, huh?" said T2.

"I've had case work that gave me nightmares," said Jennings. "And seen even the most upstanding citizens turn out to be monsters. But I always trusted that the people I was working for were doing the right thing, even if I disagreed with them sometimes. But this? It's like they closed ranks and left me on the outside. I was sure that if I didn't leave, they'd find some crime to charge me with. Maybe even frame me. So I'm done. I'm done!"

"Right, well, working for me won't exactly be a walk in the park," said T2, rising unsteadily and shuffling across the room to retrieve a cup of coffee. "I'm extremely eccentric. You won't understand half of what I'm doing and I'm not going to explain myself to you every step of the way. Just so you know."

"Sounds like you want to tack a signing bonus onto our deal," said Jennings.

(Feature image from Pixabay.)


Read my novels:

Check out the comic I wrote: