Not Good Enough [Part 1]

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

"Are you alright?"

Oh no. Not this again. I'll just tell him what he wants to hear...

"Yes, sir."

"Well you don't seem alright. That whiskey you’re having is going down far too smoothly. Does this have anything to do with your recent lack of publications?"

Damn him.

How frustrating it is to be reminded of your own shortcomings.
But I have to tell him something...
What I say doesn't matter. I just have to look him straight in the eyes.

"Look, I haven't been lacking motivation. I’m out there scraping for a story more than any of your successful goons"

"Hmm..."

I can smell the dissatisfaction.

"Maybe trying hard just isn’t enough."

Smug bastard…

"I have to be honest with you. I want something good within the month or you'll have to find a new job."

The boss stood up, tightened his red striped tie and left the bar.


Look at that prick leave a 20 on the table and stroll out like a pimp. It was his advice that made me join the paper. Sadly money changes character over time.
That whiskey of mine looks awfully empty. The ice is all cold and lonely.

"Hey! One more please."

"Your favorite coming up!"

A luxury that I won't be able to afford for much longer...

Although they pay me surprisingly well, it just makes the workplace ruthlessly competitive.
And I'm stuck in the middle of it all with nothing to write.
I need to get out.
This boredom is driving me into alcoholism.

I'll call Pablo. He’s easy to get out of the house.


"Hello?”

"Hey Pablo. You doing anything tonight?"

"I was going to get some writing done but I have this feeling that my plans are about to change."

"Precisely. Meet me at the club at 10pm."

Click.

Perfect.

Now I have company and as far as I know he has also been having trouble finding any good material. His greed for detecting peculiarities will be through the roof... just like mine.


Will be continued...


Image via cea +


steemit: @martin-stuessy
other: Globe.ink