You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why is Prostitution So Taboo?

in #writing6 years ago

Religion is really good at setting up rules like this, but generally you’d think it would be one of the ten commandments. And yet it’s almost glaringly NOT. You can’t cheat on your wife, and you can’t fuck another man’s wife, but the bible doesn’t seem to care much about the trading of goods for “services.” I mean, prostitutes are mentioned here and there as being looked down upon in society (Jesus hung out with one, holy fuck what a nice sympathetic guy!) but if you take a good look at “marriage” then you’ll easily see, it’s the same kind of contract… but less “Boost Mobile,” and more “AT&T Wireless with an iPhone 3…” if you know what I’m saying.

This has never really crossed my mind before, but I think you're right, but I still think prostitution tends to be a taboo subject because of the male chauvinist influence of society and our bad practice of believing ourselves superior to others, even in this century sex is still taboo, so it's no wonder that everything around me is not open subject matter, I apologize for my mistakes, use translator because I'm not good with English.

Sort:  

Its primarily an American-Puritan influence and the need to control the sexuality of women.

Many European countries have legal brothels that try to protect the workers and patrons in some way.

It's crazy right? American's preach all day along about how they love "freedom" but you can't buy sex, drugs, or a decent crepe in most of the country. :)

American freedom is a selective thing. Heck, even the go to American drug of alcohol is restricted in certain areas primarily due to religions reasons.