Poem To A Dead Friend

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

An amazing person was taken from my life way, way to soon.
I still have trouble admitting to myself I will never see them again.
I wrote this poem in honor of their memory, I wrote this poem to express
how mad I am at this person for being so wreckless. And so it goes:

How much do you need
To fill your hollow greed.
Was it never just enough
For me to take you to the top
To feel the world spin.
Last chance to speak your mind
Open up what's behind
Tell me how long has it been.
A light burns out just as you come back to life
And you're still beautiful

But your lidded hazy crazy fucking glassy eyes
Take another downer an swallow an smile as the pain subsides
And as you breathe your final breath
I am left with this truth I don't want to see

Oh lord, forgotten,
You remembered yourself and again forgot about me

So now who's going to tell me
What to believe?
It's hard out here living
When you're feeling dicieved
You where ready
And oh, you where willing
And you were begging me please
And it's so hard denying you
When you're down on your knees

So I prayed,
For the sun to shine
Oh lord I was praying
I needed this in my life
I tried meditating
Although it brought me no closer to GOD
Now he's out on your doorstep if your ready or not

So whoever tells you
The color my heart bleeds
Its hard out here living
Never feeling release
You were ready
And oh, you where willing
And at the sound of your pleas
I surrendered to the power of you
down on your knees