My Writing Journey: Do You Like Katars?, 2/23/2019

in #writing5 years ago

Man, I did not intend to disappear for so long. I caught some sort of upper respiratory infection that has mostly kept me in coughing fits all week. Sorry, y’all.

The week before, I intentionally left out any updates because I wanted to keep the Quest in the Realms stuff at the top of my most recent postings. In retrospect, I don’t know if that mattered at all; it certainly didn’t help build any traction for the posts. A mini-Curie rolled through like a distracted tumbleweed on one of my entries, but that was about it. The project in general did fairly well, with others gaining Curie votes. Kudos to those Bananafish Knights: @f3nix, @dirge, @calluna, @ntowl, @marcoriccardi, and @cyemela. Overall, though, yeah, lessons learned about marketing and promoting and all that.

So let’s talk promotion.

Take a gander at my reworked article “How Neoliberalism Failed to Keep Fascism at Bay.” That shit went viral (or at least semi-infectious), garnering 6k views over the course of a few days. Hell, there were even whole arguments about it on Reddit. For reference, the most views any of my previous Medium entries gained was 83, so...that was quite the jump. I mostly sat around gawking at the numbers going up and repeatedly asking my wife, “What is happening right now???”

Unfortunately, then I got sick and haven’t written jack since. :(

Last week, I did revise a bunch of fiction and submitted it all over the Internet. I’ll let you all know as the rejections/acceptances roll in. These ones were all for paying publications. Fingers crossed.

In between delirium and coughing fits this week, I’ve been updating my resume and putting together a cover letter. I help other people with this kind of stuff for a living, but writing them for oneself is tough. It’s been slow-going, which has also halted my other writing process.

Kind of randomly, I also started reading Dune. My only judgments so far: 1) wow, this is going to be epic; 2) I appreciate Frank Herbert working in all these naive characters at the beginning to help with exposition; 3) I find the religious text introductions to each chapter intriguing…

More updates to come!

Oh, also, if you've read my "Asleep in Nara" story, then I hope you'll enjoy this beauty:


Katar.jpg

credit goes to Ali Axelrod
(feel free to email me at [email protected] if you'd like the artist's contact info)

Sort:  



This post has been manually selected, curated and upvoted by CI mod staff team. Supporting all posts that are in high quality and don’t get enough recognition.



This post was submitted for curation by: @theironfelix
This post was voted: 100%

So sorry you've been sick. Me too, and I also haven't written anything creative in awhile. Just don't have the energy.

But thanks for the mention because I had no idea I'd gotten a mini curie on an episode. I had to go check to see what you were talking about!

I hope your submissions go well and you feel better soon!

Thanks. DayQuil is amazing. I'll keep you all posted on the submissions.

Posted using Partiko Android

Glad to see yah posting again :p
Let’s see those tallies of acceptance/rejections!~

0411748C-090E-40B2-A2B8-FD3D064A67F0.gif

Oh, they're coming... Probably just a bunch of rejections, though.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sometimes a death stare is needed
CD7790B9-926F-43D7-9CC2-B54B07DEA182.gif

Congratulations @michaias! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 300 replies. Your next target is to reach 400 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Dear @michaias

Please accept my honest appology for this post (not related to your topic).

I'm pretty sure I already reached out to you (asking for your vote for little initiative Im supporting) so this request may not be anything new :)

Could you please vote on this dpoll for a friendly community (SteemChurch), which Im trying to support?

It's such a fierce contest and just after 4 days we're right behind SteemitBloggers:

We've another 3 exciting days ahead of us. Perhaps you could ask around your friends if they wouldn't mind support our small initiative.

I would be very grateful :)

Link:
https://dpoll.xyz/detail/@theycallmedan/which-steem-project-should-i-delegate-20k-steempower-to-for-1-year/?rep=33&sp=3&age=30&post_count=10&stake_based=0

Please vote on "SteemChurch". I would appreciate your support a lot.

Yours
Piotr

Thank you for the reminder. I apologize, but I've been ill and highly distracted. I will vote once I get home tonight.

Posted using Partiko Android

Dear @michaias

Thank you for the reminder.

Absolutely :) So please allow me to remind you again:

https://dpoll.xyz/detail/@theycallmedan/which-steem-project-should-i-delegate-20k-steempower-to-for-1-year/?rep=33&sp=3&age=30&post_count=10&stake_based=0

And drop a vote on SteemChurch.

I would absolutely appreciate it.

Yours
Piotr

Voted!

Posted using Partiko Android