Blood on the Moon - serialised EXCLUSIVE for Steemit! - 9

in #writing7 years ago (edited)


Blood On The Moon Cover

Amazon link

My third novel was finished and published in time for Halloween and I had a launch at Waterstone's at Sheffield.

The full book cover, done by the wonderful, talented, brilliant Paul Mudie

Other Images from Pixabay or Google (Free Usage)


Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Part 5

Part 6

Part 7

Part 8


Ch1 Jessica (Rabbit) has entered the Lion’s Den – Wolf’s Den – of her own accord and is neck-deep in her greatest desire (Be careful what you wish for).

Ch2 Red is speaking to a Wolf she knew from long ago and has been astonished once by his revelation.


“It is, I suppose, since I re-entered puberty that I have become so worried. I have fasted for months now and yet I continue to regress. I cannot stop this. I have come to you as a last resort because we were friends once. I feel that I must ask you to...”

He couldn’t finish what he wanted to ask. He leaned his head on his arms across the table and finally succumbed to his sorrow and he sobbed without caring what the Sentinel thought of him.

“Ryan, do you understand this?” Red asked.

“No, and yet, I do. He poisoned me.”

“Not quite, Ryan. He obviously used you as an experiment. Have you had further contact with the Wolf?”

“At first, he visited me regularly but when I began to tell him that I wanted the process to stop now, he didn’t visit again for a long time. Then, a few weeks ago, he returned and was again visibly shocked. I asked him to stop this and he laughed and told me that in future, I should be careful what I wished for, but I see now, there is no future, not for me.”

“What of your children, Ryan? I remember that you had twin boys, do they know about your predicament?”

“No. I have had little contact with them. They live in Europe, near to one another, even though they are both extremely different in personalities, they are still very close and I think they will need each other as comfort when they learn of my... ah, situation. They were devastated at their mother’s death but they helped each other through the trauma. I had no-one to help me and I think that may be why I sank to the depths that I did.”

Red was silent for a minute and then asked, “Who is this Wolf?”

“Lord Grey, as I knew him a long time ago.”

Red nodded and thought for another long moment.

“And you want me to do something for you Ryan?”

“Yes, Sentinel, I do. I have thought long and hard about this. I do not want revenge. I asked for this I suppose. All that I do ask from you as Protectorate of Wolfkind – as a friend – is that you finish this quickly. Please, Sentinel, Hazel.”

Red did not say anything more. There was nothing more that she could say. She could not reassure him, the process had an obvious end and neither wanted to picture it. She didn’t want to remember what happened to Sebastian but the reminder was right before her eyes.

He looked up at her, his eyes filled with pleading. “Please Sentinel, make it quick.”

She raised him to his feet and embraced him. Then with one quick motion, before he knew that it was coming, Ryan’s head was wrenched around to break his neck. A flicker of something – gratitude or perhaps relief – registered in his eyes and then they glazed over and she lowered the body to the floor. She took her sharpest knife and as carefully as was possible, removed his head so that his body’s regenerative skills could not heal what she had done.

She muttered two more words and they were anointed with a deadly and venomous tone. “Darius – again.”

Red put her car in the garage and then loaded Ryan’s body and head into the plastic-lined compartment and slammed the lid. She was angry and upset and she had lost another friend to the bastard, Darius.

Red had always known that Darius had not died; she knew that the Police Chief, David Rosscourt was complicit in his faked death and she also knew that he would resurface at some point, but she didn’t think it would be quite so soon.

It beggared belief that he could be so brazen as to make a return and start his experiments again. The Wolf never learned from his mistakes, he continued to make them until those that opposed him and pointed the mistakes out were gone.

Red took Ryan’s body to a place where it would do most good to Wolfkind. She took it directly to Anton’s home.

Of course, she knew that she was taking a massive risk. If she were to be involved in an accident and the contents of her car were found, the trouble it would cause was astronomical but she couldn’t leave Ryan’s body to decay without at least some tests being made on it.

There may be no hope for Ryan Colwick but perhaps the next victim of vanity and Darius’s ruthlessness would be saved the same agony.

Sort:  

Hi,

I came here because I saw one of your posts on Facebook. I've read a few of your stories and enjoyed the way you put the image of the scene into the reader's head. I'm not sure what I'm doing on this platform. This is the first thing I've written but I've read plenty.

Anyway, keep writing and I'll keep reading.

I truly would like to thank you again for sharing a few of your stories with us. A full blown published Author sharing with us. I am still blown away by acts like yours and @everittdmickey. I am super enjoying the stories. Little Ash, and now Jessica. I feel blessed by the sharing of the Authors on here.

You are more than talented when it comes to writing. So unique✌

Hooked again...