Steemit Markdown Cheat Sheet - Tips to help you create beautiful articles

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

markdown help

Mastering the art of markdown can be beneficial for all writers. Below is a list of commands that might come in handy when your creating your next masterpiece.


Headings:

Input:

# Heading 1
## Heading 2
### Heading 3

Heading 1

Heading 2

Heading 3


Text:

Input:

*italic*
**bold**
***bold-italic***

italic
bold
bold-italic


Images:

Input:
Images have the same formatting as a link, except they’re prefixed with a !. This time, the text in brackets is the alt text - or the descriptive text for the image.

![social media](http://i.imgsafe.org/6d41026d2b.jpg)

Links:

  • Automatic links
    Input:
http://steemit.com

http://steemit.com

  • In text links
    Input:
I like [steemit](http://steemit.com)

I like steemit


Lists

Input:

* Steemit
* Facebook
   * Twitter
* Pinterest
  • Steemit
  • Facebook
    • Twitter
  • Pinterest

Quotes

Input:

> To produce a mighty book, you must choose a mighty theme.

To produce a mighty book, you must choose a mighty theme.


Tables

Input:

  First Header  | Second Header
  ------------- | -------------
  Content Cell 1  | Content Cell 2
  Content Cell  1 | Content Cell 2
First HeaderSecond Header
Content Cell 1Content Cell 2
Content Cell 1Content Cell 2

Videos

Input:

  [[embed url=https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aKTH0o8AEtQ]]

[[embed url=


Horizontal Rules/Line - Like the ones I'm using to separate topics.

Input:

---

Escaping

What if you literally want to type how are you - without it appearing in italics? Escaping Markdown characters with a back-slash \ allows you to use any characters which might be converted into HTML.

Input:

this shows up in italics: *how are you*
this shows the asterisks: \*how are you\*

this shows up in italics: how are you
this shows the asterisks: *how are you*


Sort:  

Helpful :)

Glad you found it useful, I thought I would do something productive for the community :)

Helpful thank you!

What an informative article, thank you. It will surely help spice up my posts. I am unfortunately having issues with applying images. I also cannot find these options for heading, italics etc... I would so appreciate anything that you can help me with. The rest I will absolutely attempt. Have a steeming day :-)

Hi disletti, for images you can just paste the url of where the image can be found. A easy to use website for uploading images is imgsafe.org. After you've uploaded the image just paste the url in your article. hope it helps :D

Hi! Thanks so much for your information. I appreciate it very much! Have a great day and many successes to you 😀

No probs..u too :D

Thank you, so helpful for me as a beginner!

Glad i could be of some help :D

I keep using this article!

Thanks, this was very helpful.

Thank you, I certainly needed this as I started out and needed to figure out how all this works. Very helpful!

Thank you so much, this was so helpful!

Still relevant in 2018!