SELF DISCIPLINE COULD BE THE MISSING LINK TO YOUR SUCCESS

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Have you ever wondered why you do not do what you are required to do? Have you wondered why you cannot just stop procrastinating or simply focus on a specific task that is important to you? Just like you, I used to and still partially face the music of always regretting my either my actions or inactions towards achieving a goal simply because I couldn’t control myself- or should I say my desire. Unarguably, lack of self discipline could be reason why many of us are not progressing.

Hi there and welcome to my blog. I am Great Morgan and I am very pleased to have you here reading my blog post. Today, we would be briefly looking at the issue of Self Discipline. After serious study on my life, I discovered that I lacked the fundamental ability to make the necessary decisions that I ought to make at various important moments of my life. My study led me to digging deep into the issue of Self discipline or should I call it “Self Control”. I hope you learn something valuable at the end of this post. Enjoy

First of all, I would love to quickly mention that this post isn’t just motivational. It is educational and also inspiration. I believe that you would learn a lot from it, especially if you’re like me who is currently battling; self discipline, improper time management and misplaced priorities.

Secondly, I would love to add that my idea of Success isn’t based on money, financial increase, cars, women, fame or other things that the world has termed ‘Success’. My idea of success is basic. I believe that success is just the accomplishment of a desired task or goal. It is that simple. If you wanted to wash your clothes before evening and you do just have you have planned and gained the benefits of washing that you hope for, believe me- you have succeeded. In that note, let’s take a look at Self Discipline very briefly.

SO WHAT IS SELF DISCIPLINE AND WHY IS IT IMPORTANT?

I would love to define Self-discipline as one’s ability to control their desires and impulses in an attempt to stay focused for long period of time on what needs to get done, in order to successfully achieve that goal. Self discipline is just the simple act of disciplining one’s self by taking certain measures and setting certain standards or rules that would assist in the achievement of a task, plan, goal or habit.

Dreams are usually the starting point of all success. Making sacrifices is the backbone of success because to become something or someone else, you have to let go of who you presently are. Consistency is just like the fuel of Success. If any man must succeed in whatever task, vision, plan or goal he has set for himself, he must be willing to be consistent in the actions or habits that would lead to the place where he can call “Success”. Finally persistence is like the guarantee of Success…but without Self Discipline, one can hardly become success even with the other attributes.

Having a dream without being either self disciplined to set goals from the dream or even to chase the dream wouldn’t mean much. Dreams are still just dreams until an external force called “action” is exerted upon it.

Without Self Discipline, you can hardly even make the right choices. One who isn’t discipline would be known for his or her inability to sacrifice what is either bad for what is good or what is good for what is best.

Also without Self discipline, one can rarely be consistent. Consistency is most times as a result of deliberate consciousness and push. No one can truly be consistent without self discipline.

Self discipline is one of the biggest and crucial factors of success because Success is and would always be as a result of our priorities and the choices we made or didn’t make. This makes self discipline the stronger factor, because if you’re not disciplined enough to move, act or make the right choices when they matter, you can as well forget about success in any area of your life.

Thank you for reading to this very juncture. I would love to ask that your questions, contributions or suggestions should be dropped in a comment below. I would love to talk about self discipline in a broader scope and I also wish to apply what I have written here into my life- I hope you do the same too. I remain your favourite steemian @morgangreat

Sort: