Neoxian's Prodigious and Desolate Post-Apocalyptic Writing contest!

in #writing6 years ago (edited)


(pic from https://images.alphacoders.com)

Welcome all Steemians, it's time to explore another genre I enjoy. Limber up your mind and get your keyboards ready for another writing tournament:

Neoxian's Prodigious and Desolate Post-Apocalyptic Writing contest!

What's Post-Apocalyptic? It is a story set in a world that has been ravaged by some sort of disaster that wipes out most (but not all) of civilization. Only a small few of the most lucky, strongest and/or most prepared survive, and they must eke out some sort of existance in the ruins of the former world.

The calamity might have been a nuclear war, or perhaps disease, or a meteorite, other natural distaster, or perhaps a particularly nasty economic collapse. Post-apocalyptic worlds are often plagued with mutant creatures, zombies, radio-active waste, giant insects, or hordes of degenerate gangs.

It might even be a fantasy setting that is experiencing a post-apocalyptic scenario. (Maybe a great magical battle laid waste to everything.)

Edit: Oops, forgot to give examples: Mad Max, Fallout, Wasteland (video game), Stephen King's "The Stand", 28 Days Later..just to name a few.

Contest

For this contest you must write a short story, maybe a few pages are perhaps more with a Post-Apocalyptic theme. Write your story in a post and link to it below in a comment. The deadline for this contest is when this post pays out (seven days).

I will select one winner, whichever story I like the best. The winner receives: 100% vote, resteem, 10 SBD. I will also pick a few honorable mentions and give them 50% votes.

Best of luck and happy writing!

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Thank you for the opportunity. It's been a while since I've had reason to post a story. Hope you enjoy it! Here it is:
A world worth saving.

Probably not what you expected, but it's post-apocalyptic with a twist of lemon.

https://steemit.com/steemmonsters/@blockurator/the-saddest-tale-ever-told-e75da06356533

Wow! This is an amazing challenge. Because of @neoxian, and this challenge I was able to write something for you all. I hope you'll love my short story.

Here is [my entry by the way.](

https://steemit.com/writing/@davinsh/neoxian-s-prodigious-and-desolate-post-apocalyptic-writing-contest-or-the-virus

I wanted to be a bit different but hope that you will enjoy it.

Entry for Neoxian's Prodigious and Desolate Post-Apocalyptic Writing contest! | The Lost

This contest has been placed in the Steemgigs Contest Channel which has over 5000 members and will be presented in a compilation post on the weekly Talk with Terry Show is every Sunday 12:00 AM Manila Time/ 16:00 GMT 0 Time Zone.
I will endeavor to join all contests left there or at least make a small upvote and add on the compilation post.

Steemgigs Contest Channel link
https://discord.gg/ajnWGxJ


This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

love Neoxian.
highly appreciated for this bank

my story link...
I would request to visit my blog dear @neoxian

https://steemit.com/story/@maruf24/a-post-apocalyptic-story-37b33ac449ffc

I’m really glad we have creative steemiens like you here giving others great opportunities. I’m not a writer, but there are few great writers steemiens I’m a huge fan of and I follow. Just like most steemiens they struggle now. I will give them your link to this contest, perhaps you will become their fan as well if they decide to compete. They definitely need steemiens like you.

@neoxian, is there a word limit on this? I have a story that I've been working on for the last couple months off-and-on that I think would be a perfect submission for this contest. It's a longer story, though, so I want to make sure it would be accepted.

If your story is very long, you might want to just pick the best one or two chapters and link me to that.

Ok, It will probably be just a 2-Parter, so I'll post the 1st Part and link to that and then post Part 2 at a later date. I hope you enjoy it.

Here is my story! I hope you enjoy this look into our possible future:

https://steemit.com/story/@dbzfan4awhile/circuits-of-invasion-part-1

I wish i had more time to participate on this one. Sounds like a great opportunity to get immersed in a story based on my favorite subject! :-)
And i love that image too you choose. I guess i will watch the "resident evil" today.. i have been planning on it lately. Or even better, " the road" with the great gary oldman!
:-)
best post.jpg

Nice Comp and thanks for running it, I had been wanting to write this as a series for the last 2 months and your comp actually prompted me to start.

Confessions of an end of days Overlord

Hi. Nice contest you got here! Here's my entry:

1005 Years After Earth

Adding mine here. Thank you for the contest!


Hole in the Wall

I apologize for the eleventh hour entry. I found out about your contest mid-week and then it took me some time to decide how to approach this. I hope it meets your contest requirements. Thank you for providing this writing contest. It was fun. :) Please find the link to my story here.

interesting contest...
I appreciate it @neoxian

I like such a nice contest.
I want to be a part of it @neoxian

Me too interested to it

Boss... Am highly Interested Sir... What a captivating contest! I love Esoteric stuffs.

I am interested in your contest dear @neoxian

i interested in this contest dear @neoxian

Hi Master @neoxian
Can you check my post on How Bidbot @therising is unfair ?
Evidence enclosed.
Thank you

may this disaster be replaced by a better one,
greetings know neoxian

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Very intersting contest. I wish i can join these contest!

What's stopping you? Time is my enemy, life is busy and distracting, Steemit get's the majority of my spare time. :)

She did join it.

There are 2 pages
Pages