My first experience of musical criticism

in #writing7 years ago

Often life throws out unusual things. Destiny is a villain, ah ...
A few years ago, I first came across the work of one musician (I will not specify the name, for personal reasons).
He became one of my favorite performers, I listened to his tracks as they are called "utterly impossible."
After a few my "fan" years, this artist himself found me, wrote to me.
What was my surprise when I found out that at the moment he is in my city, moreover in my area!
We live almost in neighboring houses.
Of course, he invited me to somehow meet, drink (coffee, and not what you thought: D), to talk heart to heart.
I was very curious.
Can you imagine what this feeling is?
When you can find out exactly how your favorite song was written, what was the author thinking about at the moment, what was it really written about ...?
My euphoria was no limit.


Well, you certainly understand that our communication was not limited to music alone.
I could not help falling in love, and he .... (further - cut out, for personal reasons: D)


We meet 4 months.
During these 4 months I managed to draw a lot from him for myself (I hope that he also learned from me something new).
But I'm not writing about dramatic conditions, a broken heart and pink snot, at all.
Today, I want to share with you one of my first publications.
There is such a magazine Eatmusic (maybe someone heard about it).
At one time, my "musician" persuaded me (thank him for it) to try himself as a journalist, to write an article.
The editor gladly took me, and as it turned out later, she never regretted (everything calls for more, but I'm breaking something: D).
For my first article - I chose the concert of Kirill Richter (a young boy-pianist, neoclassic).
Here, I give you a link, maybe someone will be interested:
http://eatmusic.ru/koncert-kirilla-rixtera-09-07-2017-seriya-neoklassiki-reportazh-foto/

The article is written in russian.
For those who do not know the Russian below I'm writing a translation (sorry for illiteracy, I have to use an interpreter, because I do not speak English perfectly).


Concert of Kirill Richter in the series "Neoclassics".

On July, 09 the concert of Kirill Richter, one of the brightest young composers of our time took place. The presentation took place on the platform "Green Theater at VDNH. A scene on the water. "

The place was chosen very well: a unique open-air stage complex, located on the Garden Pond in Ostankino Park, created an atmosphere of sublimity, spirituality, all that is directly related to Richter's music. The scene in the style of postmodernism with the depicted birds, the smooth water, surrounded by a beautiful park landscape, helped to completely penetrate the atmosphere of music, the "soundtrack to life" (as Kirill calls his creations). The composer decided to show his work, which was never performed on stage: music written for the choreographer of the Mariinsky Theater Ilya Zhivoy.

Richter appeared on the site imperceptibly, but already the first, sharp as a sudden thunderstorm, the notes made to attract the attention of all spectators. The tension in each sound, in each key that Richter took, could not leave anyone indifferent. Among the compositions were such works as "Zeitgeist", "Michigan 7", "In Memoriam", and others.

The manner of playing Kirill is something incredible: his fingers wrote out virtuoso pirouettes on the piano; The pace then developed to cosmic speeds, then slowed down, leaving pauses. Here it was impossible not to follow every stroke, every movement; absolutely everything was felt. Nature seemed to merge with the musician: live swallows fluttered over the ground, catching every trill.

In general, the first part was purely piano. Richter here also follows his principles: in solo performances he always adds something new, each time his works sound differently. The composer re-experiences all his creativity, the music passes through him, he is sad and smiling with her.

In the second part, the violinist Alena Zinovieva and the cellist August Krepak joined the young talent. The format of this trio Richter considers the mobile instrumental unit itself.

The musicians transmitted all their emotions with their own game: sometimes the violin "cursed" with the cello, sometimes they harmoniously supported each other. With the naked eye you could see that the guys are kicking from the game: they are a single whole, one family. But at the same time, everyone "told" his story. Each masterly conveyed a feeling of despair, growing into hope.

The whole concert turned out to be some anthology of the works of Kirill Richter at the moment. But, as in the finale of each of the compositions, so in all of Richter's work remains the question. What else will this young talent present? What else can we hope for? What else to dream about? Everyone decides for himself. And we have to wait for the next concerts of the young neoclassic.
M3RsucOwWxk.jpg


I am pleased to read your reviews here and on the site.
Can you even advise something, tell me about the future - what is missing in the article, in your opinion?