Mariner

in #writing6 years ago

THROUGH A MARINER’S SCOPES: PHOTOGRAPHY AT SEA

Timayin is a mariner, and spends most of the year on board a vessel, but he also takes the time to appreciate the beauty around him as he sails around the country. Through his lens you will experience the ocean like you never thought you would. The frames of his breathtaking shots are a valuable addition to any galley and will stir up wanderlust in you.

  1. Tell us a bit about yourself: I am Timayin Folorunsho. I’m a mariner and photography enthusiast. Photos offer an immense boost to memory. They hold life and emotions. They make time stand still. I love adventure and chances to learn new things especially about things we’d normally overlook. Maybe someday, photography will take me to heights unimaginable.

  2. Talk to us about what you were feeling and seeing when you took these shot
    I took this photo from a speedboat while proceeding out to sea amid bumping and slamming waves. Something enticed me about the vessel. If boats could speak, this lady here would definitely have stories to tell. You think not? Take a look at her hull again. Look at those fenders!!
    Well well! All I did was look up and the canvas up there seemed to go well with everything else around me and click! I shot away. It’s kinda therapeutic for me.

This came to me as a rare occurrence. One of those lazy days when I stepped out to see what land looked like and my eyes saw the sun dipping in the distance and there was this nice colour scheme. This was not something I was going to lose. Twilights are always lovely.

It’s an absolute wonder waking up at dawn in the famous Lagos Anchorage and heading out to grab breakfast only to go out and find local fishermen already out and about the hunt for different kinds of fish. And there’s an abundance of fish in Nigeria. Many times, there’s a demand and supply of fish between these fishermen and ships/boats. Cool trade!🤔

This shot came after a day’s boredom and frustration and the need for a distraction from all of life’s worries just to capture random stuff that the eyes would normally ignore.

This is my sweetheart. I named it “A Lagos Harmattan Sunset” as it was taken during the Harmattan periods of 2016 just before Lagos experienced the haze that took her in December. This photo speaks to me because of the directions in it.

This photo was taken in the Abonema wharf area of Rivers State at a time when the ebbs and floods of the channel seemed to be evening out. It felt strangely peaceful for reasons that I yet do not understand.

This one here covers one of the moments in the procession for ships going alongside for the purpose of cargo transfer in what’s called a Ship-To-Ship operation. Could be transferring petrol products or other stuff. But in this case, it’s petrol specifically. Cool stuff? You have no idea the risks involved.

Timayin can be contacted at @IamTimayin on Twitter and Instagram, and https://m.facebook.com/Timayin on Facebook.