In the Lonely Hour Ch 1 - Ablum inspired story

in #writing7 years ago

Disclaimer: This story was inspired by Sam Smith's album In the Lonely Hour. The title of each chapter comes from the song it was inspired by. It was originally written as fanfiction, but I switched up the names and such of the characters. I don't own any rights to Sam Smith or his album. The story contains adultery and LGBT themes. Later chapters will contain NSFW material. I'll mark the chapters appropriately. Let me know what you think!


Not the Only One

She sat at the dinner table alone, for the third time this week. She decided to try something different tonight, though. She started cooking a little later, knowing he would most likely come home late. Dinner was currently staying warm in the oven.

She wore a simple robe, underneath was a set of lingerie that he used to love on her. They hadn't been intimate in weeks and it hasn't been romantic in years. She always assumed it was because of their hectic schedules. With both of them being successful lawyers, they were constantly working.

She always had dinner on the table whenever she could. On days that she worked late, she had something ordered and sent to him. On days that only he worked late, she would bring him dinner herself. That was until he asked her to stop. He said she didn't need to go through the extra work for him. She didn't think much of it then.

She was brought out of her thoughts by the sound of the front door. She got up quickly to greet him at the door.

“Alex.” she greeted with a hopeful smile.

“Hey, babe.” he replied. He pulled her into a brief embrace and kissed her forehead.

“I cooked dinner.” she blurted out, not really knowing what to say.

“You didn’t have to do that, babe. I would have been fine.” He replied kindly. He had yet to remove his shoes and coat, as he headed to their bedroom. Daena followed.

“I know. I was just hoping we could spend the evening together. We have both been so busy lately.” She had stopped in the doorway and watched him rummage through the closet.

“Yeah, this has been one hell of a case we got stuck with. Shouldn’t be much longer before we reach a settlement, though.” He pulled out a different blazer and switched it out for the one he had worn to work.

“Are you going out?” she asked, still watching him from the doorway.

“Uh, yea. I told some of the guys from work that I would meet them for some drinks tonight. Sorry, I figured you would be at Liz’s.” He spoke as he placed his other blazer in a pile for dry cleaning.

“Well, I really wanted to spend the evening with you. I made your favorite for dinner and I pulled out one of your favorite outfits...” She opened her robe as she approached his sitting form on the bed. He was in the middle of switching out his shoes when she stepped in front of him.

He looked up and took in the sight of Daena in a black two piece lingerie set. He leaned in and kissed her belly through the split of her baby doll top. She smiled softly at the gesture and ran her fingers through his hair.

“I was hoping we could talk and make love. Can you just stay home tonight? Please?” Alex sighed.

“I can really use the drink tonight, babe. I won’t be out all night.” He started to head out of the room, Daena on his heels.

“We keep a stocked bar, Alex. You can have your drink here. I really wanted to talk to you. You can go out with the boys another night.” You could hear the irritation in her voice, even though she tried to remain calm.

“Well if you had mentioned your plans to me this morning, there would be no problem. I’m not canceling my plans just because you all of a sudden want to spend time together.” He was making his way to the door.

“That is bullshit and you know it! I am not the one out with “the boys” almost every night of the goddamn week!” She couldn’t help the raise in her voice. At this Alex held the door open and turned to her.

“I’m not arguing about this tonight, babe. I’ll be back later.” He turned to leave.

“Daena!” She practically screamed out of anger.

“What?” He turned back to her, confused.

“My name is Daena. I thought I would remind you, since I can’t even remember the last time you used it.” She crossed her arms across her chest and glared at him.

“What is your point, Daena?” he asked. He was a smart man, he knew what she was getting at. Daena took a deep breath and looked away for a moment before she returned her gaze to her husband. She didn’t say a word. He sighed.

“Look, I’ll be back later. I’m sure whatever you wanted to talk about can wait til tomorrow.” And with that he walked out the door. Daena released the breath she had been holding.

“I’m pregnant.” She spoke to an empty room, one tear falling down her cheek.


You say I’m crazy, cause you don’t think I know what you’ve done
But when you call me baby, I know I’m not the only one
-Sam Smith