You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do We REALLY Care About Giving Up Our Privacy?

in #writing6 years ago

I think we like to think we care, but actions speak louder than words. We're not, as you say, 'up in arms' - far from it. I definitely think we're complicit. We're too lazy to read the terms and conditions for everything we sign (by 'we' I include myself in that as well). We're mildly creeped out by the fact our phones can record our conversations but not enough to actually do something about it. Perhaps we might discuss with our friends at dinner.

Privacy blockchains (is that the correct term? I don't speak computer) and their applications seem promising, but I think if people truly cared about privacy, everyone with an internet connection would be getting on board, and not just when its in the green.

I think this general inaction is connected in some way to the apathy that drives the world's problems: poverty and slavery and climate change, to name a few. I'm not well read enough to know how we got to this point, nor am I smart enough to know how to solve it. I just know it's kind of fucked up.

Anyway, I'm going to go write some shit and get some magic internet money now.