BEAUTIFUL BLOSSOMING BUD

in #writing6 years ago

BEAUTIFUL BLOSSOMING BUD

alt
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplashed

When I was but a babe
My mother told me
Look, your big brother
He doesn’t even bother
To show off his colour
For the world is cruel
To those who shine brightest.

alt
Photo by Ivan Jevtic on Unsplashed

I’m no longer a bud
I’ve matured to be
Beautiful as ever
My petals spread farther
Birds sing of my colour
The earth and sun fuel
My quest to be brighter

alt
Photo by Shlomo Shalev on Unsplashed

Baby, do not be proud
Mother said to me
For as the birds flutter
Doting on your splendour
Flower becomes mother
Then starts your forlorn toil
To dim your offspring’s light

alt
Photo by Ben Weber on Unsplashed

I’m no longer a child
So just let me be
Men adore my splendour
Look, this one comes closer
Then plucks me asunder
Holds me like a jewel
Mum look, I am still bright!

javardh-713563-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Javardh on Unsplash

It won’t be long now, child
Rose, the end draws near
Your petals will wither
And your strength will falter
They’ll see you and cower
Cast you to the soil
Your light, your fire, snuffed out.