Why am I awake? .....a poem...

in #writing7 years ago

It's Thanksgiving Sunday, and I can't sleep ,
The excitement of turkey makes me weep.
My favorite white meat, next to pork,
Can't get enough on my fork.
Fluffy mashed potatoes smothered in butter,
Layered in gravy couldn't be any better .
And the stuffing just like mom used to make,
Pumpkin pie all set ready to bake.
We sit down , with fat pants on,
To stuff our faces until everything's gone.
Empty plates no leftovers to share,
It was delicious what do I care?
Cleanup is the worst part of the day,
Everything's gone, cooked it my way.
Compliments said how good it was,
Turkey talk was all the buzz.
No everyone's gone, time to nap.
So full, my pants have snapped.
I'll do this again in another year,
Dinner was a success , I have no fear......

Happy Thanksgiving everyone !