Sort:  

Good you can bring them to life and put them in the memories of the young folk. Sounds good to me!

To me also. I ve heard these stories some 20 years ago, first I need to refresh my memories a bit. You cant find this stuff online

That's true, and if you do there will be many versions. I think the best you can do is read as many as you can and tell the story as you feel it. In this story the way some tell it the first giant lives, even though in the oldest writing he dies. I kind of took what I liked from several versions and put it together. Old pagan stories like this weren't written down until long after the Christians came and rewrote them, they were oral history. So I like to use the oldest story I can find, but maybe use some of the embellishments from later stories to create my own tale. In the end only the gods and dead men know the real stories. If you know what I mean. I think the most important thing is to keep the heart of the myth intact.

I faced the same challenges writing my first 2 posts about Slavic mythology. Stories of old people from rural areas differ from the book I have at home, and they both differ from stuff on line. I admit, I muostly stick to oral tales when I can. Considering christianization, it is common in all nation that tales have been somewhat altered in order for the domicile population to easier understand Holy Scripture. Also myths revived in medieval times like romantic memories and tales of great heroes, and they weren't intented like that in the first place

Exactly. I think you are going to tell some great stories my friend.