You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Steemit really meant for rewards?

in #writing6 years ago

Steemit wasn't really meant to be a source of income; as what I've understood.

You might be surprised at the number of people who have created apps affording them an opportunity to make Steemit their primary income.

On the other hand, many have made their earnings via scamming; thus, the number of authentic ‘success’ stories diminish significantly.

a substitute on those centralized social media platforms and that's it.

Au contraire; Steemit is really not a substitute for FB, etc. Many will tell you that Steemit, by itself, is ‘boring’; in comparison to FB, etc. where people interact with non-virtual friends and family, etc.

I initially thought, too that Steemit could overtake FB; but, never…let’s say…not likely ever; because, the two are different entities.

Steemit is primarily for blogging; whereas, other social media outlets are instant-interactive streams...offering easy, and continuous keep-in-touch access.

In comparison, Steemit is more like email...FB, etc. are like live-streaming.

back to the reality that I still am unstable enough not to leave my job.

I like to think of STEEM platforms as a way of putting a few pennies in a jar that have the potential of growing; and, offer an opportunity to invest costing me zero out-of-pocket. In all honesty; from what I’ve observed, it’s not likely that I would EVER put a dime of my own money into crypto. It’s too volatile, and unregulated, and I simply am too frugal for such risks.

Come for the rewards, stay for the community.

Catchy phrase; but, ughm…as noted earlier…that’s not what the platform is primarily designed for...jmho.

Perhaps someday they will offer an interactive app. I’ve heard something’s in the works; but, that was months ago.

Peace.

Sort:  

I agree with almost all the points you've pointed out. But I was just talking about Steemit- the app, and not the Steem blockchain.
I get the differences between Facebook and Steemit. Possibly it could be more comparable to WordPress.
Thanks for taking the time in visiting one of my posts. It's been a while since I had interacted in one of my own.

WordPress.

Ah, yes...WordPress...This reminds me of Blogger and the 'penny-stock' blessing of Steemit!

It's been a while since I had interacted in one of my own.

I know you're serious; but, rofl...Sadly, interactivity is limited to STEEM soaring to the moon...lol... Let it hit $4.59 and you will get tired of replying...lol...

Peace.