In This Post I Talk About Write Club

in #writing6 years ago

Write Club begins and I get inspired on the way out the door.

Write Club started this week and (like I suspected) it’s hard. On Monday we got our first prompt and we were off to the races, but I was about the slow and steady pace. Of course, my first idea came to me about 10 seconds before I jumped into my car to head to work, so I had to talk to myself for my entire commute to work so I wouldn’t lose it. Trust me when I say that if I hadn’t spent my time in a conversation with the idea--it would have been lost.

Now it's time to turn my inspiration into a story.

Upon arriving at work I promptly fired up discord and headed over to the The Writer’s Block where I brainstormed the idea I had been discussing in the car. I got to keep the main themes (the parts that still made sense after running them by the writers I respect), but the details changed a lot. As usual when it comes to writing my first idea was a bit of a bust, but it planted the seeds that I could turn into a story. The brainstorm planted some more and what we discussed turned into 6 pages of notes. I printed them out on the work printer (naughty naughty) and called it a day.

My stories don't write themselves.

I was off to a good start. Day 2 I spent working on my character(s) and Day 3 I spent outlining the story. Both of those went somewhat smoothly, though if I had it to do over again, I’d probably combine them into one day, and leave myself an extra day for writing. I see this story going about 2000 words, though if it goes 4000 I wouldn’t be surprised. Now it’s day four and I have 500 words. I’d feel more comfortable if I had 1000, but I’m hoping to make up the difference tomorrow.

I evaluate my performance.

So far, not bad, right? Wrong. I’m getting nervous that it won’t make sense. That I won’t have a story when it’s all said and done. That my writing won’t stack up. (One of the other writers--I’m not naming names here--wrote 9000 words already!) I’m getting nervous that my character(s) won’t be unique. Won’t be believable as characters. Won’t be dynamic, engaging, interesting. You think of something you want in a character and mine won’t have it. Maybe I’m just trying to sink myself (I wouldn’t put it past me).

What’s next?

More writing. I’m not kidding. I should probably plan on writing (and erasing) at least 5000 more words if I want to hit that 2000 word mark. And after that a bunch of reading (of my own story), some more erasing, and hopefully I have enough of a story left to only need a few hundred more words. I’ll be crossing that bridge between now and Tuesday.

After Tuesday - things get really interesting, because we move into serious critiquing. I’ll have 7 stories to read in 2 days and I’ll write 7 synopsis. Then I’ll choose my favorite two and write in depth reviews. This is what I signed up for. This is Write Club. And I just talked about it.

Thanks for all of the support.

None of this would be possible without the other seven sacrifices. You are all an inspiration to me. The first thing I do every morning is tune in to The Writer's Block and read what you've said while I've been sleeping. Actually, I always have one eye on The Block because I hate missing out. I think it's called FOMO and I have it. I expect our band of eight to continue on for sixteen weeks in this way. No quitting (and all that). Everyone is strong and capable. Basically, what I am saying is, I'm outclassed. And I love it.

Check out The Writer's Block





Check out VOTU

Join us on discord

Sort:  

This post has been deemed resteem & upvote worthy by your friendly @eastcoaststeem ran by Steemian @chelsea88

Thanks @chelsea88. I love that you are doing this - it's very kind and helpful.

Ooh, that good you are a potential for writing big blogs.which I have not.

I did a bit of a challenge a couple months ago.... But it all happened too quickly. Well....after the 3rd or 4th part of the challenge I fell behind. Writing challenges can be tough. I wish u all the best!!

Thanks @em3. I will do everything I can not to fall behind. My future self is counting on me!

Man, your writing process is more efficient than mine.

Glad to see you're making headway!

It's not more efficient. I just can't do it all at once because it won't come out right. I'd rather have a somewhat finished product on day 1 or 2, but I can't do all of it in one day on a longer piece. Thanks for reading.

Aww, you've got this! I believe in you!!
And btw, I was completely joking about the 9000 words thing :PPP
I don't even have 2000. ;)

Keep it up! Sounds like you’ve got some process going. I can’t wait to see all the stories. 8 completely different works from one spark of an idea. Off I go to work on mine. Pretty sure it’s going to come in around 5000 words.

Keep making your passion realistic. saty focus and do great.

@seyiodus.