Settings Template and Questions

in #writing4 years ago

I use this template and questions about my story setting to give my fictional world depth. I based this questions and template off books I've read.

Describe the world setting of the story...
.
.

Choosing Your Settings

Brainstorm Settings

Write a list of 100 settings for your scenes stream-of-consciousness style.

Assign Settings to Scenes

Pick the most interesting settings and assign them to scenes in your story.

Arrange for Maximum Effect

Arrange settings with scenes so similar settings (or worse yet, same settings) don't happen in adjoining scenes.

Setting Plot Interplay

Describe how each setting improves and interacts with its associated scene.
.
.

Note: I am archiving this post from an old blog that will disappear forever this year.